Pico de Gallo

I prefer regular tortilla chips but the blue ones make a better photo

Talk about a quick, simple, perfect appetizer or snack. All you need are really ripe tomatoes and jalapenos.

You can add anything you want to jazz it up, but here is the basic starting point. Roast corn and red bell peppers are both excellent additions. Do not remove the seeds from the hot pepper, if it needs to be less spicy only use a half. Remember to only consume and use 100 percent agave tequila. If you have any of the other stuff save it for when people are over you don’t care for.

Pico de Gallo

  • 6-8 medium-sized tomatoes chopped small
  • 1 medium red onion diced fine
  • 1-2 jalapenos diced fine
  • 3-4 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro
  • 2 limes
  • 1 shot tequila
  • salt/pepper

Mix ingredients together. Squeeze lime over and season with salt and pepper. Serve room temperature.

Here are some of our other favorite salsas: Burrito sauce; grilled pineapple salsa; picante salsa; grilled corn salsa. We’re also eager to try the pineapple jicama salsa over at Eat, Play, Love.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Mexican, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Pico de Gallo

  1. rutheh says:

    This will be great when the tomatoes come in abundance.

  2. Pico is one of my favorite quick recipes to make with summer tomatoes of which I have a lot f rom my garden…so tomorrow I will have this with a sliced avocado and chips. Thanks.

  3. Maureen says:

    I can’t wait for fresh tomato season here! This looks so inviting! I agree on the blue chips. :)

  4. I’m not a salsa eater but it looks like a winner – I like your advice, I’ll remember to adjust depending on the guests!

  5. Love salsa and have never made it with Tequila. This must be amazing!

  6. Great recipe – although I would have to have a separate bowl with half the amount of chilli and my hubby would be thrilled to hear you say “Remember to only consume and use 100 percent agave tequila”. :-) Mandy

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    Actually it was the chips that caught my attention, I never seen those? do they taste the same as the normal one, I suppose not as what you said you use it for presentation purposes. Why is it blue BTW?

  8. imakeeper says:

    Fresh salsa is SO MUCH better than any store bought stuff. Looks tasty!

  9. Feeding Time says:

    Huh! I’ve never thought to use tequila in my Pico before… am I missing out on a traditional ingredient or is this your own addition?

    • Ha, I don’t think it’s traditional. In my highly scientific poll, I googled, I didn’t see it in any. Katherine’s dad always used a bit of vinegar instead of lime juice. We like using lime juice and tequila. Nondrinkers could skip it, or add vinegar.

  10. Kelly says:

    This is so great. I love the simplicity and huge flavour. AND, tequila… ! Now you’re speaking my language :) (So pretty too!)

  11. My sister-in-law usually makes this at family gatherings…but with tequila, I have to bring this for my brother’s b’day at the end of July. Thanks again.

  12. sallybr says:

    Well, I am going to pay close attention in case I’m ever at your place and you bring out a bottle of tequila! ;-)

    we love pico de gallo, it’s one of my husband’s default recipes for get togethers, the tequila addition is a nice twist, I must show him

  13. ChefDad says:

    Tequila in a pico de gallo?! Brilliant! This looks delicious. Thanks for the mention too. :) I’m still craving that pineapple salsa. It just screams to me on hot days!

  14. I love your plating..so elegant and beautiful

  15. Sissi says:

    It sounds perfect for hot days! I will only have to substitute jalapeños with other chilis…

  16. spicegirlfla says:

    Oooh…I love when you heat up your foods! Tequilla how fitting is that for this salsa!! Your photo looks so sharp with the blue chips and red salsa!

  17. I didn’t know you could add some Tequilla! Mine always did like a bit of umph. Now I have the answer!

  18. Mmm mmm! That looks wonderful.

  19. Judy says:

    I agree, the tomatoes make all the difference here. Chips, eggs, grilled meat, tacos, and a dozen other things are great with Pico–fresh and delicious!

  20. My girls will love this one. Sending it to them. This looks great!

  21. Delicious! It looks simply amazing. Who needs chips with this? I could just eat it by the spoonful! Great recipe

  22. G-LO says:

    That looks awesome! I need some Margaritas and enchiladas now. Here’s a little Pico de Gallo song for you in honor of this tasty dish…

  23. Rachel says:

    Ah, someone beat me to the video link… I love this stuff but can’t hear the name or see it without thinking of Trout Fishing in America! :-) Mmmm…

  24. Lisa says:

    Of course I saw tequila in the ingredient list and thought “I like this recipe already.” :P Is tequila usually in pico de gallo or is that your own addition?

  25. Carolyn Chan says:

    It’s really hard finding the 100% agave tequila here and I recently had some and I finally get what tequila lovers say when they go “really good tequila is like a single malt whisky”. Your comment about “the other stuff” made me laugh out loud. Brilliant.

  26. TasteFood says:

    Simplicity rules. So does tequila. Nice photo!

  27. crustabakes says:

    i like the part on saving the “other stuffs” for people you dont care for! LOL

  28. nrhatch says:

    Perfect! Nothing like fresh salsa, chips, and tequila to make us strut about like roosters!

  29. Christina says:

    Love the shot of tequila in this pico! I can’t wait for my tomatoes to be ready to pick! I bet this will be incredible! :)

  30. Great photo, great recipe … and now I have tomatoes, all I have to do is get me some tequila!!!

  31. Caroline says:

    Love the addition of tequila! Now that’s my kind of salsa. I’ve never tried that before. Looks great. :)

  32. ambrosiana says:

    Uhhmmmm you reminded me of a great recipe!! You know something?? I could use pico de gallo on top of….. just about anything!!!!!

  33. Yum! I’m making guacamole tonight, so I may have to include this in the appetizers as well. Great photo!

  34. Jodi Stone says:

    Can’t wait to try it.

  35. Holly says:

    Hey Greg – you know I mentioned cachumber to you that I love to eat with curries, this is basically it! [is cilantro coriander?] If so, this is pretty much it, though I don’t add jalapenos, but I think they are a great addition! Try it with a curry dish, it’s a great, tart, light salsa edge to indian food!
    [ps I finally got past the chicken karahi recipe tonight and made the tandoori chicken recipe you posted about – it was lovely!]

    • I thought it had cucumbers too. Yes, cilantro is American speak for coriander. Katherine was getting something out of the fridge the other day, I can’t recall what and used the British term. She says reading so many food blogs is affecting how she speaks. Still need to try the karahi! Oh I remember she threatened to beat me with a courgette. Ha, I just made that up, honest!

      • Holly says:

        Ha, I get that occasionally too now. Still adamant I’m not converting to cups though [sticking to my grams]! Courgette – well, it’s the proper way isn’t it (wink wink).
        As for cachumber I think there are many different types. I use red onion, tomatos, lime, coriander and salt and make to taste! It’s so similar to yours above. I use the cucumber in the raita side instead!

      • Everything you Brits do is proper!

  36. Does anyone serve store bought pico anymore? I hope not – you are right so easy and it’s one of my faves to put on anything! Love the tequila shot inclusion – it’s also one of my faves!

  37. Looks delicious. Can’t wait to try the recipe.

  38. Ashley says:

    Love the addition of tequila! Looks amazing.

  39. I’ve recently discovered 100% agave tequilla and I could never go back to drinking the rough stuff, its almost like a sweet liqueur. This salsa looks great and love the black corn chips!

  40. Colleen says:

    looks delicious and super fresh!

  41. pico de gailo , is one of my favorite especially when I partner it with grilled fish…

  42. I’m not a huge pico de gailo fan, obviously because it has tomatoes in it, But, I have made this on occasion for friends (with some plastic gloves of course) and I love your recipe. Gotta add tequila then give it to my friends to enjoy lol.

  43. What’s the blue tortilla chips made from?

  44. joshuafagans says:

    I always forget how much better homemade salsa are. Have to say, I’ve never added tequila. I will have to try now.

  45. Charles says:

    Now this looks wonderful – not like the shrivelled, soap-tasting stuff from the restaurant I mentioned before :D I always avoided making it before after having it ruined for me by that damn place. I must give it another try now!

  46. ChgoJohn says:

    This looks really tasty and, as other have stated, much more preferable over something store-bought or restaurant-prepared.

  47. egg me on says:

    A shot of tequila! Ole! Nicely done. I need to get me some tomatoes.

  48. I’ve always wanted to try it with tequila but when you have little kids, it makes it kinda hard to tell them they can’t eat the salsa! I must try it when I have adults over. Are those Garden of Eatin chips, my favorite brand of chips! I love their Red Hot and Blue chips, yummm!

    • One recent batch we got in the organic aisle, well the sale aisle actually. I can’t recall the brand. The others were Tostitoes or however it’s spelled. Also, organic. What’s funny is we normally just get the yellow ones, but when they’re on clear out, well you stock up!

  49. Lisa says:

    Once again I will definitely have to try one of your recipes! I love coming to your site because it always inspires me. Keep those great posts coming!

  50. kat says:

    You put tequila in the salsa!! Amazing idea!!!! :)

  51. PhobicFoodie says:

    I have never put tequila into pico before! Definitely must try for my next batch!

  52. Pingback: Maybe With Some Pico de Gallo « The Mike/Mitch Project

  53. Pingback: Chili with Smoked Brisket and Venison | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  54. Pingback: Carne Asada and a Cinco de Mayo Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  55. Pingback: First Tomatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  56. omeletta says:

    Never thought of adding tequila to pico de gallo, I bet it gives a great kick, I will definitely be trying that next time!

  57. Pingback: Kicking off Tomato Week | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  58. Pingback: Grilled Romas | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  59. Pingback: Chipotle Pintos | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  60. Pingback: Party Drinks | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  61. Pingback: Glutton California Burrito | sportsglutton

  62. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: How To Make Tamales | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

