Stuffed tomatoes with tuna and capers

Just scoop out the seeds

By Katherine

When Greg’s working in the garden or tending the smoker all day, I like to whip us up something fun for lunch. It’s never too fancy, maybe quesadillas with leftover grilled vegetables or, hmm, OK that’s pretty much my specialty. But I did concoct these with some tomatoes from our garden. This makes a nice lunch for two. Double as needed.

Stuffed tomatoes

  • 2 good sized tomatoes (sliced in half, seeds removed)
  • 2 cans tuna in oil (reserve oil from one, if you only have water packed add 1 tbsp olive oil)
  • 2 tbsp breadcrumbs
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup Romano
  • 1 tbsp salted capers
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • four slices melting cheese (we like cheddar)

Mix ingredients together and divide between four tomato halves. Top each with a slice of cheese and place in a lightly oiled pan. Put in the broiler until cheese is melted. You can cook a bit longer if you want the tomato to roast, but be careful not to overcook.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Stuffed tomatoes with tuna and capers

  1. Thanks, I can never have too many tomato recipes as I just love them. My family would love this one!

  2. Clever idea using tuna, especially with oil…yum! I’ll add egg in my tomatoes and bake them, add your favorite spices and cheese, makes a great breakfast! I’ll have to try your recipe Katherine, I know my husband and I would enjoy it!

  3. Clare Cooks! says:

    Oh… Tomatoes, capers, tuna! Three of my favorite things. I am definitely going to have to try this.

  4. Yvette says:

    Love these, always a great lunch time break treat!Delish!

  5. James says:

    Gorgeous recipe. This is a wonderful meal !!

  6. Delish – and a very beautiful tomato, if I might say!

  7. Sissi says:

    It looks at least as delicious as the tomatoes stuffed with ground meat, but much easier and quicker! Thank you for the idea! What does “Romano” mean? Is it a kind of sauce or cheese? (I have just googled and found both).

  8. So simple yet so fancy. Love this!

  9. Holly says:

    simple perfection!

  10. Mmmm….this looks great! :D

  11. Lea Ann says:

    I don’t know why I’ve never put capers in tuna salad. This looks wondertul and a perfect summer treat.

  12. Hi Katherine! This looks good and quick and easy. I can’t wait for my tomatoes to get ripe. I have lots of green ones but no ripe ones yet. This will be on my table for lunch soon.

  13. Judy says:

    Summer tomatoes top the list for lunches around here, gotta enjoy them at their peak.

  14. Kelly says:

    Tuna is so delicious and I like it here in the juicy tomato – a nice seasonal change from bread. The capers sound great too. Yum!

  15. TasteFood says:

    These sound perfect – I’ll be sure to try this!

  16. Caroline says:

    Stuffed tomatoes are the best. I’ve never done it with tuna, but that sounds like it’d be delish. Awesome recipe, Katherine!

  17. I love capers! This looks delicious!

  18. I like this! Tuna and capers are such strong flavours, I’m totally intrigued!

  19. Yum! definetly a muct try!

  20. that was supposed to be (must)

  21. Charles says:

    Mm, tuna and capers makes a delicious combination, especially with some good olive oil! Did you ever try adding in some chopped coriander (cilantro) too? Really delicious!

  22. spicegirlfla says:

    I love roasted tomatoes with a garlicky bread crumb topping but never thought to add in tuna! Sounds like a great lunch idea. I believe in the less fancy the better!

  23. I cannot get enough tomatoes (or capers) in my life right now!

  24. JamieAnne says:

    Looks great! Is that a polka-dot plate? Cuteness!

  25. Young Wifey says:

    I might have to try this with the salmon and fontina I have on hand…

  26. Kristy says:

    There’s no way I could get hubby to eat this (he hates tuna outside of sushi) – it looks fantastic though!!! Perhaps with the above suggestion of salmon…maybe then I could get him to go for this. Very fun lunch!

  27. Kas says:

    That looks delicious and I love my tomatoes! I really need to stop looking at your blog when I am hungry ..

  28. Carolyn Chan says:

    I am so envious that you can make dishes using what you’ve grown – looks sooo good ! May I have your quesadilla recipe please ?

  29. ambrosiana says:

    Gorgeous looking tomato with yummy stuffing!!! What else can you ask for??

  30. Karen says:

    Hi Katherine, I’m sure that your stuffed tomato made a perfect lunch for the two of you. And much more imaginative than plain tuna fish salad in a tomato that you see so often in the summer.

  31. Sissi says:

    Thank you once more, Greg! Now that I know all the ingredients, it’s time to roast the tomato :-)

  32. Ooh yum! Tuna with tomato beans and cucumber is pretty much on my lunch menu everyday – this mixes things up a little with the cheese and serving the lot warm. Great idea!

  33. nancyc says:

    I’ve never made stuffed tomatoes, so I will have to try these out!

  34. ChgoJohn says:

    Wow! My family’s stuffed tomatoes are nothing compared to these! Although I’m still weeks away from picking my own, I’ll be giving your recipe a try once I can.

  35. Good Lord these look great! Tuna is such a great protein for this heat, I am making these this week! Thanks for sharing.

  36. jenlenew says:

    looks amazing! It reminds me of a dish I tried in Bosnia, they are known for stuffing everything!

  37. ....RaeDi says:

    One of my favorites and a beautiful picture too….RaeDi

  38. I love a recipe that has all the “food groups” in one:) Yummy!

  39. Pingback: Tomatoes, Goat Cheese and Anchovies — Oh My | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  40. Pingback: Kicking off Tomato Week | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  41. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: You Say Tomato… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

