Stuffed Chicken with Roast Squash and Tomatoes

I swear this is simple

I came up with this on a whim one night. Although it started out simple, the chicken got a little involved. If time is a factor, just roast the chicken with some olive oil, lemon juice and fresh oregano rubbed in. That said the goat cheese filling was pretty awesome. Just saying.

Roast Vegetables

  • 2-4 fresh squash cut into large bite sized pieces
  • 2 tomatoes diced medium
  • 4-6 cloves garlic cut in half
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano
  • Salt/pepper

Mix everything together in a 9×13 baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

For  each chicken breast

  • 2 tbsp goat cheese
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 green onion chopped fine
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • Salt/pepper

Mix the filling together. Remove tender from each chicken breast and set aside for another meal. Butterfly breast and pound out to between 1/4″-1/2″ thickness. Spread filling over 3/4 of breast leaving a 1/2″ clean meat edge on one side. Roll each breast up to the clean side and tie securely with cooking twine. Coat outside in olive oil and sprinkle with more fresh oregano, salt and pepper. Sear all sides in a frying pan over medium heat and then place on top of squash and bake at 360 degrees until chicken is cooked and squash is roasted, about 30-45 minutes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Stuffed Chicken with Roast Squash and Tomatoes

  1. Goat cheese filling!!!! I am all over this recipe! It is so bright and colorful and goat cheese filling!!!

  2. No doubt that these ingredients would create one tasty dish. Nice job!

  3. Add some eggplant and thyme, and you’ve got ratatouille – the easy way. Beautiful, can’t wait for the squash to begin arriving!

  4. Lea Ann says:

    I’m a big fan of goat cheese, so this sounds great to me.

  5. Kelly says:

    This looks terrific and I would definitely opt for the goat cheese. Veggies look great as well – squash and tomato are a nice pairing.

  6. Ginger says:

    I just received a ton of squash from my neighbor… Perfect timing with this recipe, thanks!

  7. Charles says:

    I love goats cheese with anything, so I can imagine it would make a perfect filling for the chicken – looks delicious, and so colourful!

  8. I like this a lot as we are neither of us that keen on chicken breasts (I like dark meat) but because we rear our own chickens, we inevitably have a load of them. So, am always looking for ways to “jazz them up” and the goats cheese and vegetables looks very, very delicious! Pretty too :)

  9. Holly says:

    Perfect tray bake I think!!

  10. The goat cheese sounds pretty awesome! Looks great!

  11. nrhatch says:

    One of the best meals I ever ate in a restaurant ~ roasted veggies and goat cheese over pasta. Sublime.

  12. All I can say is…WOW!
    I love everything about this recipe!

  13. pcadams says:

    I’m making it for dinner tomorrow! Thank you.

    Peace,

    Phil

  14. eva626 says:

    squash is my fav! and so are roasted peppers…well most of the stuff you post on are my fav…i like your postings!

  15. Sissi says:

    Beautiful and so seducing! Both, this and your previous post, confirm what I have always thought: goat cheese goes well with practically anything!
    I am always afraid tomatoes will go into pieces if I roast them with other vegetables. I see I shouldn’t worry!

  16. Yum- love the bright colors and like many have said- goat cheese filling!

  17. crustabakes says:

    Wow, i wish my whims could be as creative as yours! This looks wonderful. i love roasted squash and goat cheese fillings!

  18. ChefMom says:

    Mmmmmm. Yum! This looks so delicious – I would definitely make it with the goat cheese.

  19. chicken stuffed with cheese is one of my faves, too. great recipe!

  20. YUM! This looks GREAT! I don’t know if I’ve tried goat cheese before (I’m always trying things without knowing what they are)…so I’d need to give this one a try! :)

  21. ambrosiana says:

    Great recipe!!!. It looks very tasty, and I love goat cheese with squash!!

  22. rsmacaalay says:

    Goats cheese in a chicken! this must have tasted really good. Love the flavour combination in this meal

  23. Maureen says:

    Wow Greg, this looks beautiful! Did it take long to put it all together?

  24. spicegirlfla says:

    This is really funny because I made stuffed chicken breasts the other day w/goat cheese! Your wrapping and knotting looks much better than mine… probably due to your having had more experience from all that braiding of garlic you recently were doing!!

  25. Now I know what I will do with my first squash from the garden! Thank you!

  26. Carolyn Chan says:

    The colours on that plate are amazing !

  27. Colleen says:

    These look delicious. I love chicken stuffed with anything… but the goat cheese and garlic sounds great inside!

  28. One thing I absolutely love is a great chicken dish and this Stuffed Chicken with Roast Squash looks amazing. I haven’t eaten squash in such a long time but my mom loves what you did with it. Very nice

  29. Caroline says:

    Eek! Goat cheese filling–yum! Awesome recipe.

  30. JamieAnne says:

    360 deg. Neat-o.
    This looks FABULOUS!

  31. chicken and squash…two of my favorites. This is the perfect meal to share with the family on a Sunday afternoon or any day for that matter.

  32. pcadams says:

    I made it. We ate it. What a hit!

  33. nancyc says:

    I never thought of roasting squash and tomatoes together–that sounds really good, and so does the chicken!

  34. Lovely! You always have the best photos of your dishes.

  35. My squash should be ready any day and I will certainly try this. I’ve had onions from the garden and yesterday I got my first cucumber… It looks so good.

  36. Judy says:

    Looks great! Love the color surrounding the chicken and the stuffing sounds wonderful.

  37. More great summer food! Putting this one on the list.

  38. Pingback: Herbed lemon chicken with roasted vegetables « Chef in disguise

  39. ....RaeDi says:

    Looks wonderful, you know I found using plain floss to tie meat is a bit easier to use, this dish looks delicious….RaeDi

  40. Pingback: Kicking off Tomato Week | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  41. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Tomato Time Part One | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

