Burgers with sun-dried tomato paste, goat cheese and fresh herbs

By Katherine

It needs some fries

As most of our readers by now know my husband does the bulk of the cooking. He loves to cook and I love to eat what he makes. Who wouldn’t? When we cook together, I tend to be the sous chef, spice collector, trash emptier, dog wrangler or the person at the counter saying: “You said it’d be done in 15 minutes, 30 minutes ago.” Ungrateful of me, I know. There have been times I’ve been chopping vegetables at our cutting board talking to my husband and viola the chef’s knife has gravitated to his palm and I’m standing empty-handed at the sink thinking: “Wait, wasn’t I just doing that?” It’s one of his trademark moves. When I have the opportunity to cook for him, I tend to go overboard. Truffle oil in the mac and cheese? OK. A starter and chilled soup? Sure. Veal in hamburgers? Yes, please. I made these on a recent Saturday, shortly after our first tomatoes came in. For the record, he packed the patties. I never have gotten the hang of that.

Katherine’ burgers

  • 1/2 pound ground veal
  • 1/2 pound ground beef (fattier is OK, because the veal is lean)
  • 1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped
  • 1 tbsp bread crumbs
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sun-dried tomato paste

Mix meats and remaining ingredients together using a wooden spoon or your hands to really incorporate it all. (If this grosses you out, just use those plastic bags or make your husband do it.) Form into two to four patties. Grill over medium heat until done to the wellness you desire. Top each burger with a tablespoon of goat cheese and thick tomato. We used tomatoes we’d seasoned with fresh basil, a drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper. Serve on toasted buns.

On an unrelated burger note: A belated congratulations to Simply Cooking 101, whose Italian Caprese Sliders were in the Top 5 in LA Times’ Battle of the Burgers.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Food, Grilling/Smoking, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Burgers with sun-dried tomato paste, goat cheese and fresh herbs

  1. sallybr says:

    Katherine, your burgers are absolutely awesome, now that my husband is open to the idea of “adventurous burgers” i must give your recipe a try

    Nice to see you as a guest blogger, my husband made two “guest posts” for me, and has one “in the making” – a drink! ;-)

  2. Maureen says:

    This sounds delicious! I love the addition of balsamic and sun-dried tomato paste. You can come and cook for me anytime. :)

  3. JamieAnne says:

    I’ve got to try this recipe! Thanks so much for posting it. Have a super weekend.

  4. Thanks so much. These look great maybe we can do a reversal too and I can get my husband to make them!

  5. ChefMom says:

    I don’t remember the last time I had veal. I’ve never had a burger that wasn’t a straight-up regular burger. Perhaps it’s time I venture out a bit. I love the signature move – you described it so well. And I love that you two have so much fun in the kitchen. I swear those are the best “date nights” sometimes. :)

  6. Love the veal and beef mix – I often do pork and beef but wouldlike to give this a try. Looks like a great burger and all good things in it. No mayo with your fries presumably?!

  7. ambrosiana says:

    This recipe is just wonderful and since you used fresh and tasty ingredients, you can easily turn it into a meat tartare!!! Excellent!!

  8. Yum! Veal in burgers sounds very special indeed! Great recipe!

  9. If one can call a burger pretty, this would be the one!

  10. You had me at goat cheese! I love it in all its many forms…
    You lucked-out the first time around with this one – my first hubby’s idea of ‘helping’ make dinner was to call for pizza. I did MUCH better the second time around. ;)

    • Our marriage is successful because we met on a dating show. I had 12 wooden spoons and to earn the final spoon she made it through all the rounds, including the name that spice and what never should be paired with black olives.

  11. My other half loves goats cheese, I think I’d be very popular if I made these (especially as he’s mostly the one who is made to do the mixing in our house). Thanks for posting!

  12. Greg is surely a lucky guy :)
    loved the addition of sundried tomatoes and oregano..really yummy..

  13. This combination sounds great! I like mixing ground veal in with ground beef (for burgers, meatloaf, or spaghetti sauce), but never thought about putting sun-dried tomato paste in the mixture. Goat cheese, basil, and ripe tomatoes = Yum!

  14. Karen says:

    Katherine, The burgers sound great with the tomato paste. My husband is much like you in the kitchen. He’s a great cook but most of the time he preps for me and does all of the kitchen cleanup (thank goodness). Your timing is perfect…we bought fresh goat cheese at the farmers market yesterday.

  15. Katherine says:

    Thanks, Karen. You’re really going to hate this, but Greg won’t let me do the cleanup either. OK, I can load the dishwasher, clear the plates and so on. But the pots, why bother? He will sneak back into the kitchen to redo them. I do tend to leave them a bit streaky, I suppose. OK, a lot streaky.

  16. nancyc says:

    Anything with sun dried tomatoes in it or on it has to be good! :)

  17. Colleen says:

    The sun dried tomato paste and balsamic vinegar sound delicious inside!

  18. You all are amazing! : )

  19. rsmacaalay says:

    I tend to mix lean and fattier meats as well, it give a lot of flavour and moisture to the burger patties

  20. Hi Katherine! It is so nice to meet you! These burgers look absolutely wonderful. I could eat one right now and it is 4 a.m. in the morning. lol. I am sure your husband loves having your help in the kitchen. We foodies just tend to get carried away sometimes. Have a great week.

  21. myblogject says:

    Katherine, wonderful post. Goats cheese on a home made burger… Can’t get better! Wish could stop by and have one!

  22. Sissi says:

    I try to avoid veal which for me is simply bland (and also very expensive here), but this is the best way I can imagine to enjoy its tenderness, while removing the blandness with the beef. Excellent idea! I must try your original mixture one day.

  23. Charles says:

    Burrrrrrgers! I just needs a big thick slice of red onion though – I’m a bit of a raw onion fiend! Love the idea of the sun-dried tomato paste… I must give that a try sometime!

  24. Hey Katherine, I’ll have to try making this burger, Mmmm looks delicious! I don’t eat much veal, but I’ll have to try it like you suggested half veal and half beef. This burger looks moiste and juicy and the tomato paste sounds wonderful.

  25. spicegirlfla says:

    How cute you two are in the kitchen!! I love veal in burgers and this looks so very moist and delicious! Especially topped with your first crop of tomatoes!!

  26. hahahahahaaaaa just so u know im planning a garden-dinner party weher i wanna serve 3 different kind of burgers..one of them is : with sund dried tomato mayo and cheddar cheese…its like u reading my mind:)

  27. Pingback: Great Food and Inspiration…A Blog To Visit | Just Ramblin'

  28. ChgoJohn says:

    Yum! Once again, I come to your blog curious and leave salivating.

  29. ....RaeDi says:

    A good mix, call me next time you are having….RaeDi

  30. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  31. Pingback: An Ode to the Burger | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

