Tangy coleslaw, now with half the mayo

By Katherine

Creamy goodness

Despite my hatred of all things mayo, there are just some recipes in which it’s hard to get around using a bit of the gross stuff, ahem, condiment. A pulled pork sandwich just needs a creamy coleslaw. So when we’re having barbecue, we tend to make this dressing instead of a Mexican slaw or blue cheese option, both of which have no mayo. All you mayo lovers rejoice.

Slaw

  • 1/2 cabbage
  • 3 carrots, grated

Dressing

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 cup cider vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 onion, grated
  • 2 tsp horseradish
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cut the cabbage into quarters and remove core. Store half, unless doubling recipe, which is recommended for large parties. Slice across grain into 1/4 inch slices. The cut crosswise to get long strips. Toss with grated cabbage. In a separate bowl, whisk mayonnaise, onion, horseradish and garlic. Spoon over cabbage mix, until well coated. Season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately, or refrigerate for a few hours. The cold stuff’s better on BBQ in my not so humble opinion.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Tangy coleslaw, now with half the mayo

  1. ChgoJohn says:

    Any slaw made with horseradish and garlic is all right in my book. I can’t wait to give this one a try. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m with you on the mayo but you just can’t get around it for the rest of the family! This one looks great.

    • We were looking through a Southern cookbook we have and there was a slaw with only vinegar and I’d written NO in giant letters by the title. Apparently, we tried it years back and just decided you need to have some mayo. Katherine really avoids it like the plague. I love it.

  3. Whee! Go mayo recipe! This cole slaw looks delicious!

  4. Love the horseradish – never thought of using this in coleslaw. And why on earth should you have a humble opinion….it´s your blog and we love to know what you think!

  5. Feeding Time says:

    Yum yum yum… horseradish in coleslaw is such a good idea!

  6. I absolutely love the addition of horseradish. This is an amazing dressing! Have a fun day!

  7. YUM!!! You make me hungry!

  8. SimpleP says:

    We were gonna use the Marie’s dressing for the cole slaw, but this looks really different and easy. I’ll be heading to the store for horseradish and mayo. Very timely! Thanks!

  9. gisellecagli says:

    I love the fact you added horseradish to your recipe!!! As far as mayonnaise, I never buy it since – like you – I am not fond of it. I agree with you that some recipes need a mayo so make my own mayo and it really does make a difference!!!

  10. rutheh says:

    I bet that horseradish adds a nice zing and cuts the fatty residue mayo experience. Will give it a try. My son’s in-laws used a bottled Vidalia onion dressing slaw I had never tried before. I am not endorsing it, just mentioning it cause anyone who likes that flavor dressing would love it on slaw.

  11. nrhatch says:

    Salads smothered in mayo are not appealing . . . but a light dressing of mayo (or Miracle Whip) on Cole Slaw and pototo salad seems to add the right touch. Good recipe.

  12. Lynda says:

    I feel the same way about mayo in cole slaw – not desired, but necessary. I look forward to trying this – especially since I love horseradish!

  13. I adore cole slaw. This sounds amazing. I am about to run to the store so this will have to go on my to make list. : )

  14. ChefMom says:

    Have you ever tried a slaw with ranch and dill as the dressing? We had one yesterday that used that combo and it went well with the pulled pork. It would avoid the mayo problem too. :) Still – this looks delicious!

  15. JamieAnne says:

    It’s nice to see you come to the darkside Katherine.
    Great recipe! :)

  16. Laura says:

    I used to hate mayo and pretty much everything with mayo in it – coleslaw, egg salad, potato salad, deviled eggs… (Although I have to say that I hate miracle whip even more!) My grandma used to make her coleslaw with oil instead of mayo. I didn’t really like hers (it was too oily) but I did an oil and vinegar slaw last time I made pulled pork and it worked. Now days, I tolerate some mayo so I’ll try this one next time. Seeing it makes me want pulled pork!

  17. How did you know I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE coleslaw Katherine? lol. I absolutely love making it and your recipe is another I definitely must try out. I always love coming here because you guys really put your own spin on classic recipes and I just love it. I hope you guys have a safe and wonderful 4th of July weekend :).

  18. Katherine says:

    Kay, you’re too sweet. We don’t have coleslaw too often, but it’s just so perfect with BBQ. Have a great holiday, give your mom a hug!

  19. Caroline says:

    I’m the same way about mayo–I’ll eat it, but I definitely don’t like it in excess. This slaw sounds fabulous! Happy almost 4th!

  20. Charles says:

    Is horseradish a common ingredient in ‘slaw, or is it more a “you” thing? Yours looks delicious! Each time I make coleslaw I always feel like it’s just lacking that one “je ne sais quoi”. Perhaps horseradish is just what it needs to have that awesomeness I need. I like my potato salad and coleslaw and other similar salads quite “saucy”, but without too much fat – I’m a big fan of mixing 2 parts yoghurt to 1 part mayo – seems to work out quite well!

  21. Sissi says:

    You are so lucky to hate mayonnaise… I wish I did. It would certainly spare me a couple of cm around the waist I owe to the years of mayonnaise eating ;-)
    Your coleslaw recipe looks fantastic and much better than the one I have had for years. I appreciate especially the horseradish presence (I am a big fan).

  22. Horserasish and garlic..really interesting..I don’t mind the mayo but I will definetly try it out soon

  23. Yuri says:

    I’m not a big fan of mayo either, but I agree that you do need it to make a good BBQ coleslaw! i guess once in a year won’t kill you and the addition of garlic and horseradish should mask the mayo flavor :) Hope you’re enjoying your 4th of July weekend!

  24. Very nice. I love coleslaw. Your recipe looks wonderful.

  25. ....RaeDi says:

    It is on our menu for tomorrow too, your looks delicious and nice picture….RaeDi

  26. I knew I liked you for some reason….I feel the same way about mayo. But as you said there are always recipes that require some degree of mayo. However, for cases like this I always try to limit the mayo and incorporate other ingredients that lessen the pain. Case in point I think you would enjoy this tuna sandwich recipe: http://sports-glutton.com/2011/02/16/open-faced-tuna-sandwich/

  27. Maureen says:

    Mayo and I are good friends. I agree that no good pulled pork sandwich is perfect without coleslaw. :)

  28. Kelly says:

    Coleslaw is one of those rare foods that I could eat all day long, so I’m digging the dedicated post. Although I’m more of a vinegar gal than mayo, your dressing sounds pretty wonderful – love the horseradish – brilliant addition!! I have to try that. It’s funny, there’s a restaurant in Montreal that offers up a choice between their “traditional” coleslaw – mostly vinegar – and the newer generation “crémeuse” – creamy, mayo variety. So, there’s a friendly feud among coleslaw lovers as to which one is best! :)

  29. I made a slaw over the weekend too but put in some Dijon mustard instead of horseradish. Might try your recipe here next time. Happy July 4th!

  30. Most coleslaw has way to much mayonnaise as far as I’m concerned. I love your idea of adding horseradish to the recipe. It has to give it a wonderful tang that will go great with a pulled pork sandwich.

  31. egg me on says:

    Great recipe! Now you’re making me want a pulled pork sandwich just so I can top it with this slaw!

  32. nancyc says:

    I’m a mayo-lover, so I’m really liking this recipe! :)

  33. I’m making this! Looks awesome.

  34. wee eats says:

    i know just what you mean! i hate mayo and even hated cole slaw for the longest time – until i had it on top of my bbq sandwich. i’ve tried multple mayo-less versions at home, but for some reason it just needs mayo to get the flavor right – especially since i like to make my stuff spicy, the mayo provides a refreshing coolness to compliment the spice ~ aiolis & cole slaw are helping to ease me into the mayo-eating population

  35. Pingback: Carolina Panthers: Carolina Pulled Pork Sandwich Recipe | sportsglutton

  36. Pingback: Lazy Sunday: Fourth of July Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  37. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Just in Time for Labor Day | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  38. Pingback: Pulled Pork Sandwiches | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  39. Pingback: A Labor Day Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  40. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Paper Plate Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

