Tabouleh and a thank you

Red bell pepper works well too

There are so many takes on this classic dish. We see lots with more parsley or different grains from couscous to quinoa. They all sound great. But in ours we prefer bulgur wheat, which we always have on hand for bread, and lots of mint, which is filling two pots, in ours. Actually, two pots, a patch of dirt near another and our tea jug and mojito glasses. We like our mint.

Tabouleh

  • 3/4 cup bulgur wheat
  • 2 lemons
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 4 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 4 green onions chopped fine
  • 2 large tomatoes chopped medium
  • 1 roasted red pepper chopped small *optional*
  • Salt/pepper

Soak bulgur in cold water for an hour. Drain and squeeze out more water with hands, then place in a large bowl. Juice the lemons into the bulgur and add other ingredients. Mix well and cover. Let stand for two hours or chill in refrigerator overnight.

On another note: A special thanks to three bloggers who are loads of fun to follow and recently put me on their lists of Versatile Bloggers: Holly over at My BlogJect, Linda over at Savoring Every Bite and Georgette of the Georgette Sullins’s Blog. We’ve already raved about some of Linda’s recipes here. She has a way with Italian classics, biscotti not Michelangelo. Recently, Holly’s been giving us fits with a three-parter on coming out. She has a knack for ending the story at just the worst time, which of course keeps us riveted. She’s also a budding cupcake star. As for the graceful and witty Georgette, well just check out her Father’s Day tribute. A few other bloggers have humbled me with this award. Thanks again. The next time I mess up dinner, I’ll remind Katherine I’m a rock star.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Tabouleh and a thank you

  1. ChefMom says:

    LOL! Congrats on the awards. You are a rock star! Great tabouleh recipe. I wish I could get some of the mint. I always have such a hard time finding it in the stores here. I suppose I could start growing some next summer. I’ll put that on my list of things that never get planted. I have such good intentions. ;)

  2. fatisrecipes says:

    In March earlier this year, you left a comment on my tabbouleh post saying you couldn’t wait for your mints to grow…

    …Look at what you’ve made now… :)

  3. Congratulations on being awarded again!
    I can’t wait to try your tabouleh recipe – it looks incredible. :-) Mandy

  4. LOL Hey Katherine is a rock star too you know LOL. And I can’t believe you messed up dinner. Don’t let these awards get to your head now LOL. But seriously, you deserve these awards. Your blog is amazing and I wish you much more success.

  5. Congratulations on the awards..they are very well deserved
    and I am sure you rarely (if ever) have to remind Katherine you’re a rock star..
    all the beautiful food you make testifies to it without the need for words so an occasional messup is forgiven easily :)

  6. Hey Rock Star – congrats on the awards and another stunning recipe. I too am trying to find lots of exciting ways to use my my mint, so this one´s on the list!

  7. Charles says:

    I read… somewhere, not sure where, that the grain must be bulgur wheat in order for it to be a “real” tabbouleh – something I only found out recently. I’ve been making it with couscous all this time, lol! That’s a massive amount of lemon juice… juice from two, normally I just do one, and maybe some lime juice, but the lemon juice makes it I think!

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    What a great classic, and yes your right most of taboulehs are quinoa or couscous even me I do couscous, I never tried bulgur wheat yet.

  9. You absolutely deserve every one of those awards! Another great recipe!

  10. this looks great – fresh, colourful. How do you use your bulgar wheat in bread, do you ground it down or use it as a whole grain.

  11. SimpleP says:

    I love the ideas for using mint. I have an entire bed of mint that I planted just for making mojitos, and I never think to actually use it in cooking. It’s the forgotten herb.

  12. niasunset says:

    Congratulations on the award, Rufus! Your recipes, and photographs are always so nice and also seems too delicious! In our food culture, bulgur has a very special place, there are so many recipes with bulgur. But with this recipe, I learn something new, you don’t put them in hot water, you put them in cold water for an hour! We usually put the bulgur in hot water… Why cold water, I would like to know, doesn’t become softer… and another point, you also use this bulgur for make a bread! How, I really wondered now.
    Thank you Rufus,
    with my love,
    nia

  13. You are a food rockstar! This tabbouleh looks delicious. I’m still going to have to try and make it from scratch as opposed to from the box.

  14. Joanne says:

    I LOVE TABOULEH and I’ve still never made it myself. On the food to-do list! I’ll have to get my hands on some bulgur.

  15. martko1964 says:

    Sounds great. Congrats on the awards….you deserve it.

  16. Congratulations on the awards, nobody more deserving in my book. I love making tabouleh and my husband loves eating it. We use more parsley but basically it’s the same recipe. Give me a tray of dips and some tabouleh and maybe some falafel and I’m a happy woman.

  17. crustabakes says:

    congrats on the awards! i have never seen or tasted tabouleh before here in Indonesia. But it sounds healthy and delicious!

  18. bakingdevils says:

    I love this salad. I just came across your blog and it makes a fantastic read. Also, many congratulations on the many awards!
    -Shilpa

  19. nrhatch says:

    I love tabbouli! I make mine much like yours . . . but I spell it differently. :D

  20. My stomach is growling! What a tasty and healthy option.

  21. Looks to have tons of flavor. Your pictures are wonderful and always make me look for a spoon or fork to dig right in. Congrats on all the awards. : )

  22. Kelly says:

    Oh, I like the mint and as far as I’m concerned, there can never be too much citrus! Congrats on your award. Keep doing what you do. Cheers.

  23. Caroline says:

    Ommm this looks so fantastic. Congrats on the awardS (yes, emphasis on the plural). I fully support the rock star statement. Tis true!

  24. spicegirlfla says:

    Tabouleh is my favorite in ever way it is made!! I could eat it weekly! Your blog is deserving of many kudos, it is provided me alot of good recipes and inspiration to try out new ideas!

  25. I was just thinking the other day about whipping up some tabouleh. Love how it pairs with the grilled stuff. Bulgur’s my first choice as well, but I’ve improvised with pin oats a few times and it’s still pretty good!

  26. TasteFood says:

    I love tabbouleh – bulgur is our favorite too. It’s perfect food for the heat!

  27. Lisa says:

    This looks so good! I will definitely have to try this out.

  28. ....RaeDi says:

    Congrat on the awards….you deserve each one you receive ~ Rock Star! This dish looks incredible, will use some of my mint, as a new mint grower a few years back I did not realize how fast it spreads….I now have it contained….RaeDi

  29. Kim says:

    Oh my banana! I love dishes with couscous.

  30. Tabouleh is always delicious, if only the rotten caterpillars didn’t think my poor mint was so delicious I would be able to make it more often.

  31. Nadia says:

    love your version, looks like you add extra bulgur. mmmm!

  32. gisellecagli says:

    Excellent recipe!! I agree with you: there is nothing better than bulgur for preparing tabouleh.

  33. ChgoJohn says:

    Recipes like this are perfect for Summer. Can’t wait to give it a try.

  34. Jessica says:

    Awards or not your definitely a rock star int book! This dish looks fantastic! So versatile and full of flavor! I always like to add lots of fresh lemon zest to mine!

  35. Love that you used bulgur and red pepper. Great twist on a classic!

  36. Sounds and looks delicious! Congrats on your awards!

  37. Holly says:

    hey there mister thanks for the shout out! Much appreciated comments too!
    Also, I’ve decided as you’re probably the only male written blog I read I may need to start referring to you as mister, just cuz i like it. hope you don’t mind!

  38. Finally I’m home in my chair that swivels and rocks and have figured out you gave a nod to the Father’s Day post. Thank you! Your version of Tabouleh is another do-able recipe that I will print and keep. More events coming up in June and early July so will definitely have something to add to the table.

  39. Isobel says:

    Mmmmm…I love Tabouleh! This looks like a fantastic recipe. I’ve always used couscous but next time I’ll try the bulgar. I’ve got a ton of mint in the garden ripe for the picking…

  40. Congrats on being awarded again! I love tabouleh! I also make it with quinoa for a gluten free version for my sister. Love Mid-Eastern Food!

  41. Kas says:

    Congrats on the awards — you definitely deserve them and you are one of our favorite blogs (except when I am super hungry and can’t get to food quickly … lol). But Tabouleh is one of my favorite dishes, and I’ll definitely have to try your version.

  42. Pingback: Madhur Jaffrey’s lemony lamb | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  43. Pingback: Marinated tomatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  44. Pingback: Left Overs – a clever addition to the Carrot and Courgette Moroccan Salads « Kitcheninspirations

  45. Pingback: Kicking off Tomato Week | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  46. Pingback: Sunday Suppers with a Middle Eastern flair | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

