The Last of the Arugula

Maybe make a mini bouquet

Recently my arugula finished producing anything but new flower petals. Like a lot of spices and greens you can extend the leaf production of a plant by plucking off the top flower bulbs and seed pods. Of course this only lasts for so long before the plant decides to not play along. I like to harvest a crop of arugula two weeks after the first flower bulb appears. Sure I could get another week or so of greens but by pulling the plants earlier I get a longer period of time to plant something else. Sometimes I put in a second run of arugula but this year, I am going to put in a couple okra plants which do extremely well in the hotter summer months.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Last of the Arugula

  1. ChefMom says:

    Mmmmm. Arugula! I had it on my list of things to plant and grow this year. I got as far as a hanging plant on that list. Sigh. Maybe next year. ;)

  2. joshuafagans says:

    Don’t forget to eat the flowers!!!! They are amazing! A wonderful light arugula flavor though they don’t last very long off the plant.

  3. nrhatch says:

    One plant pulled . . . another planted. Way to make the most of your garden.

  4. Shame the arugula (it´s rocket to the Brits – not sure why!) is over, but hurrah for Okra! Have never tried to grow it, must look into it. Bizarrely, we planted our arugula seeds yesterday, so not too long to wait until we can start to enjoy. And how interesting (I saw above) that you can eat the flowers – never knew that.

  5. Every time I have planted arugula it has thrived all by itself but will definitely remember this for when we move elsewhere – might just have been where we were. I never knew you could eat the flowers – cool! :-) Mandy

  6. You must have an amazing garden.. Instead of the proverbial green thumb, I am all thumbs!

  7. rutheh says:

    I love spaghetti arugula with pine nuts, chopped olives and raisins and a pinch of red pepper flakes, chop arugula to put on top, add freshly grated parmesan. Toss. YUM.

  8. Ginger says:

    I’ve never had orka, is it a type of green?

  9. SimpleP says:

    Wonderful ideas that couldn’t be more timely. My arugula is going nuts right now. I’ll keep my eyes open for the flowers. Didn’t realize you could eat those as well.

  10. Carol Murphy says:

    I envy all of you that have green thumbs, I am just grateful my farmers market will open soon! Any thought on those topsy turvy planters has anyone used one? I was thinking of giving it a shot this season, Rabbits consumed everything we planted in the ground last year. While I dont mind sharing with the cute little guys that was not my intention when planting my garden.

  11. Kudos to your gardening skills. I’ve never even tested whether I have one because I iive in a condo building and am too freaked out to open my windows on the 15th floor. Can’t wait to see your okra!

  12. gisellecagli says:

    Excellent post!!! In Italy we call it rucola, and there is another type, which we call rughetta. I love this leaf vegetable since it is so versatile. I love to cook it with grilled beef strips, then add some shaved pecorino romano and cherry tomatoes!!!

  13. Charles says:

    You know, this always happens to me when I try to grow coriander (or cilantro as you guys call it in the US) – All my other herbs on my balcony garden come along great, but literally 2 weeks after potting up, the leaves wither away and give way to huge long stalks with flowers on top, which eventually turn into seeds. Now, I love coriander seeds too, but that’s not really the reason I’m growing it for. Any tips on how to “cultivate” it, or is it not something you can grow for a long duration?

  14. That was informative..never knew you could eat the flowers!
    I love okra…looking forward to seeing what you do with it

  15. imakeeper says:

    That is great that you can plant and grow your own veggies, spices, etc. I like to think that eventually I could be like this but for the sake of convenience I rely heavily on the supermarket and farmer’s market ::booo::

  16. Young Wifey says:

    I miss having a garden. I can’t wait to close on our new house and put in gardens. I’ve never tried growing okra…

  17. Dianna says:

    Hello, just stopping by to thank you for visiting and commenting on my Freshly Pressed post earlier this week.
    I appreciate your kind words!

  18. ChgoJohn says:

    Can’t believe you’re pulling plants and planting others. With all the rain we’ve had, I’m considering swapping out my tomato plants for water lilies.

  19. I planted okra last year and I had okra coming out my ears. I froze it, cooked it and did everything I could think of with it, but we love the stuff and you are right it grows well in hot, humid climates. It looked like small trees growing in my garden!

  20. My rocket (What we call arugula) has been rubbish this year. It all went straight to flower and seed. I quite like the pretty flowers though.

  21. I love Arugula, I was thinking about growning some this year in my garden but I have no room for them. Are they difficult to grow? I love adding Arugula to my green smoothies, it gives it a nice peppery taste.

  22. Mmmm. It’s been forever since I’ve had okra. I’ll have to keep an eye out at the farmer’s market. Do you have any good recipe suggestions?

  23. wee eats says:

    I love arugula! I wish I could grow more plants, but the desert is not too friendly for growing – especially when you’re as bad at is as I am! :) Super jealous of your fresh veggies!!!

  24. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

