Cupcakes and winos

The silver wrappers make them seem from the future

Katherine made these chocolate merlot cupcakes for a party and they went fast. But we can’t take credit for coming up with the recipe. We saw it over at Chef Pandita’s blog. If you haven’t been there check it out. She’s one heck of a pastry chef, who’s studying to be a sommelier. On Wednesdays, she often writes about wine and many a Monday she has an amazing roundup of recipes that have caught her eye over the previous week. In between, she posts some of her own great creations.

But back to the subject of wine. Lately, I’ve also been enjoying a blog written by one Joshua Fagans “father, husband, cook, photographer, and oenophile.” His pictures of the food and wine he experiences in Napa and Sonoma make me want to book a plane ticket every time I see them. My wife and I think Northern California is one of the prettiest places on the planet, and has some of the best wine and food in the world and Fagans’ photos will show you why.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Cupcakes and winos

  1. TasteFood says:

    I like Joshua’s blog, too. While we live closer I still want to take a trip to the wine country when I read his posts. Meanwhile I plan to make these boozy cupcakes!

  2. Yuri says:

    Glad you made these cupcakes and thanks for the sweet words!! I am blushing here ^_^
    Thanks for introducing us to Joshua’s blog, adding it to my reader now!

  3. Caroline says:

    Any recipe with red wine as an ingredient is a winner for me. In fact, I might just go pour myself a glass right now. What a great idea for a cupcake. Now you’ve got me brainstorming ideas for new recipes. And you know me and cupcakes. BIG fan. :)

  4. ChefMom says:

    I saw wino and thought you were talking about me. LOL! I’m going to tell hubby to come check out this post. I think he’ll enjoy the two blogs you mentioned (not that I wouldn’t, but he’s an up and coming oenophile). And as for me, I’ll take the merlot without the chocolate. ;)

  5. How good do they look! Nothing better than a futuristic cupcake.

  6. Kas says:

    Ughhh your blog makes it SO hard for me to stick to any sort of diet. ;)

  7. rutheh says:

    Red wine and chocolate are a great pair!

  8. Thank you Rufus, I grew up in northern California. Not the wine country, though. Beautiful cupcakes.

  9. Perfect marriage – red wine and chocolate and in cupcake form is even better. I recently subscribed to Joshua’s blog and hope to hear back form him soon.
    Have a happy weekend. :-) Mandy

  10. Red wine and chocolate – good combination whether in cake form or as a glass with pieces of 80% chocolate from a good shop like Dubauve et Gallais in Paris.

  11. Cakes AND wine … what more does a gal need?! Am off now to check out these other blogs which look interesting.

  12. joshuafagans says:

    Wow, Thanks for the shout out!! I’m left a little speechless. It is nice to hear that people are enjoying what I’ve been posting. When you sit in front of the screen in a quiet house after everybody has gone to bed it is hard to imagine people all around the world are reading what you type. I have to say that this blog is an inspiration and that I have enjoyed you and your wife’s entries and comments so much. Thank you.

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    I wanna lick that chocolate on top. Yum

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Ya gotta love the concept. Why dirty dessert plates and goblets when you can make a finger food — i.e., cupcakes — with the ingredients? Let me know if you find a recipe for vodka martini cookies.

  15. what is a oenophile?!
    Those cakes look amazing, I can’t believe they have got red wine in them. I love the silver cases too, I agree they are much prettier than the paper ones which always look a bit greasy when they come out of the oven.

  16. Aarthi says:

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog…I am having a giveaway in my blog..Y dont you check and join that
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com/2011/05/chocolate-recipe-and-chocolate.html

  17. Yay! more amazing blogs for me to discover

  18. I absolutely love how she added the red wine to the cupcakes. They must be spectacular!

  19. gisellecagli says:

    Cupcakes and wine? That is absolutely genius! I am gonna checkl this blog out!

  20. I’ll have to give both the cupcakes and the new blog a whirl!

  21. jessica says:

    I mean could you just come feed those to me- just ship them or drop them by or something- do whatever you have to do to get them in my house because I must have one now! They look beyond amazing. Beyond! Oh and loving the idea of cupcakes and wine! The ultimate combo!

  22. Those cupcakes are so tempting, they make me drool, just thinking of how wonderful they will taste.

  23. nrhatch says:

    Those cupcakes look YUMMY!

  24. YUUUUUM! These cupcakes look spectacular. What a fun and over-the-top dessert to serve at a dinner party. Perfect for a warm summer night after a barbecue. Just added you to my blogroll! :)

  25. I can’t wait to check out the blogs you mentioned. I don’t drink much alcohol but when I do I prefer a nice glass of vino! I agree Northern California is beautiful, it reminds me of Italy! The cupcakes look amazing!!! Okay I have to stop looking at sweets!

  26. Linda says:

    The chocolate glaze is as shiny as those cupcake liners! I’ve always loved a bite of chocolate with my wine, now with all these baked items incorporating the two, I’m totally in heaven!

  27. Wow, those cupcakes look amazing!

  28. My BlogJect says:

    choc merlot cupcakes, what a find! Also what a cool photo!

  29. You really can’t go wrong with wine a chocolate!! These look delicious!! And yes, as a Sonoma County native, I always feel very blessed to live in such a beautiful area! Great post!!

  30. SimpleP says:

    I substitute wine for water in my brownies all the time. They come out so much richer and more delicious. Those are beautiful, elegant cupcakes – I can see why they when so quickly.

  31. randommanda says:

    Yum… cupcakes and wine – two of my favorite things. These look delicious. Thanks giving credit to and for posting links to the two other bloggers that you love, I have to check them out.

  32. Charles says:

    Having a father who loves red wine but doesn’t like (or claims not to like) sweet stuff (when I used to stash cheesecake in the fridge it miraculously decreased in size overnight :p) I think these would make a great treat for him – although he’s a bit of a wine snob… if I gave him these he’d probably scold me for daring to waste wine with cake :D

    • I’m not sure what Chef P uses but we use plonk, also known as two buck chuck, which is now actually $3. It’s a wine called Charles Shaw that a place called Trader Joe’s sells. Perfect for cooking. We wouldn’t waste the good stuff in food either.

  33. charlywalker says:

    O.K. stop WINE-ing…I’m drooling on my keyboard…….
    Those cupcakes are lethal weapons of mass destruction to my thighs….

  34. space-age cupcakes w/ chocolate and merlot? love it.

  35. ....RaeDi says:

    I have now visited half of the blogs on your list, each and all are amazing! Just so you know, I am not stalking you, take it as a compliment! These cupcakes look out of this world good and the presentation in the silver foil is over the top! Now another recipe I need to put on my list, isn’t is wonderful to get recipes knowing that they have already been tried and you know they are going to be good before the end product! Thank you for stopping and commenting, it makes me feel good to see that some other blogger likes what I have posted or the pictures I have taken. Look forwards to seeing you again….RaeDi

  36. Katherine is my type of woman making this chocolate wonder. You know I love chocolate lol. And I think you have a feeling I am going to make this recipe lol

  37. Oh my goodness! I could eat several of those right now. I am going to be big as my house if I don’t stop making all these chocolate recipes. I am totally addicted to the stuff!

  38. I have never come across wine in cakes before. Interesting. I made some cakes in those silver wrappers once too. Yay for future cakes!

  39. thesunnygirl says:

    I could pass on salmon, lamb chops, and the like but never on a divine chocolate cupcake. I think we can gain so much happiness from sweet treats which I posted about here: http://thesunnygirl.com/?p=659. There’s nothing like a cupcake to make someone’s day! Keep up the great posts!

    Keep shining,
    The Sunny Girl, Lauren Cook
    http://www.thesunnygirl.com

  40. earthymind says:

    its my first visit to your blog….all the visuals are really amazing,but this one is especially tempting!Im sure to give this reciepe a try!

  41. Just Jereme says:

    cupcakes = good
    wine = good
    cupcakes + wine = awesome!

  42. Sara says:

    Awesome! Along the lines of guiness cupcakes, right? I know this is heresy, but we often don’t finish a bottle of wine between the two of us (we used to manage perfectly fine, but since children things appear to have changed) and it’s a shame to let nice wine go to waste!

  43. annikamdl says:

    how delicious! like it a lot! keep it coming!

  44. eva626 says:

    i thought of checking out your dessert category to get rid of the craving…but now i want a chocolate cupcake so BADLY

  45. Pingback: Rufus turns one | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  46. Pingback: Deconstructed Potato Salad | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  47. Pingback: For the Love of Blog: Rufus Turns Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

