Shitake mushrooms and Garlic Scapes

They really need to be cut into smaller pieces

Here is another quick idea for a side dish that uses up garlic scapes. Although they can be cooked intact, I recommend chopping the scapes into green bean sized pieces.

Garlic Scapes with Shitake and Pancetta

  • Bunch of garlic scapes (about 16-20), chopped
  • 6-8 shitake mushrooms sliced 1/4″ thick
  • 5-8 pieces of pancetta chopped medium
  • 2 tbsp fresh oregano
  • salt/pepper

In a large frying pan cook pancetta until crispy. Quickly add mushrooms mix well to absorb the oil in pan. When mushrooms begin to brown add scapes and saute until cooked through, about 3 minutes. Season with oregano, salt and pepper.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Shitake mushrooms and Garlic Scapes

  1. this may be a silly question… i’ve never seen garlic scapes before — are they pretty easy to find at the grocery store? i bet they taste great with the shittake and pancetta!

  2. sallybr says:

    Oh, this looks tasty! I would love a big plate right now, with some nice sourdough bread…

    I am very fond of pancetta, to me it is logs above bacon! ;-)

  3. ChefMom says:

    I’m thinking a little sprinkling of parmesan and some fresh garlic bread, and this would be my whole meal! I love mushrooms – especially with garlic. I’ve never had garlic scapes though, I’m going to have to check these out somehow.

  4. Erin says:

    Pretty and yummy-looking! Your recipes make me want to become a better gardener — and cook!

  5. joshuafagans says:

    Sounds like you got a garlic scape shipment ;). Seriously though, looks sublime. What is 5-8 pieces of pancetta though?

  6. I wonder what garlic scapes are called in French…. Those are wonderful looking mushrooms!

  7. Caroline says:

    I think these look delicious as is–no cutting necessary. Love pancetta, love mushrooms, love oregano aka this recipe is perfect!

  8. Another great used for your scapes – fabulous! How did you serve this, as a side dish? Over some crispy buttered bread (toasted maybe) with a splash of cream over the top comes to mind. :-) Mandy

  9. I agree with chef mum…some garlic bread and this would be heavenly…have to look up some garlic scapes

  10. You’re using garlic scapes again.. I am so jealous. Seriously, I need to go find me some and try them out. Love this side-dish recipe.

  11. My BlogJect says:

    Congratulations! You have received the Versatile blogger award. To claim your award. Please see this post.

    http://myblogject.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/80-woop-woop-my-first-blogging-award/

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Lucky me garlic sprouts are in season here I can try your wonderful recipe!

  13. Looks wonderful. We can´t get shitake here but lots of oyster mushrooms which would taste nearly as good. Fresh garlic is still in season here, so need to hunt some out with its “scapes” still on!

  14. Charles says:

    Mmm, yummy looking. The scapes look so green and tasty and I love shiitake mushrooms!

  15. You have me starving now so early in the morning! This is gorgeous!

  16. rutheh says:

    What a stunning shot of the green. You should definitely make your blog a “scratch and sniff”!

  17. SimpleP says:

    I need to get my hands on some of those garlic scapes! Love the simply good recipes, just a few ingredients.

  18. This, like everything else you post, looks heavenly. We love our mushrooms so always looking for tasty ways to prepare. This will definitely get tested in our house. Thank you.

  19. Yay garlic scapes! Mine are ready!
    Did something similar to this last year with morels..Mmmmm….

  20. jessica says:

    I would have never thought to use the scapes before let along in something like this. You are just full of clever and delicious things now aren’t you! i am so glad I found your blog last week. this looks like the quintessential side dish. I am making this soon- you better believe it

  21. Linda says:

    I really like the contract in colors and textures. You’ve been very creative using these garlic scapes. As if I wasn’t tempted before to grow garlic, I certainly am now!

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    Your posts about the scapes have been a revelation. I’ve grown them and used them in salads, kinda like a milder version of garlic. Never have I thought to cook with them. Thank you for posting this.

  23. wow, this is such a great, colourful idea. The scapes look so tasty and juicy in your photo. This is a great retake on the classic bacon,garlic, mushroom idea (I sometimes like a little cream in that mix too.) I agree with the thought that with some sourdough bread there is a whole, perfect meal in there.

  24. Looks great and you can never have enough side dish recipes.

  25. Oh wow, this combo looks amazing, especially with the pancetta!

  26. gisellecagli says:

    Wow!!! Never heard of garlic scapes!!! I don’t know if I could ever find them in Italy!!!! I am gonna look for the translation in italian to see if I can find them!!!!

  27. zestybeandog says:

    I need to find these scapes, I haven’t seen them out here in TX…. I’d love to try this!

  28. We can’t buy garlic scapes here, but I’ve tried them a couple of times through the generosity of garlic growing friends. This looks like a brilliant way to use them! I’ve also made pesto with them – fabulous!

  29. I learned something new today! I had never heard of garlic scapes until now (I actually thought those were green beans at first haha). I wonder if my grocery store has these…

  30. This side dish recipe could be my dinner. It’s so darn hot today this would be perfect for a nice light meal. Great photo’s too!

  31. TasteFood says:

    Love the combination of shiitakes and garlic scapes – I’ve used this as a topping for grilled steak. Delicious!

  32. eva626 says:

    ive only tried one type of mushrooms..dont recall the name..but they were brown and small.
    cant wait to search for these mushrooms on sale

  33. Lisa says:

    Saw scapes at the farmer’s market yesterday and wondering how to use them. I’ll be purchasing them next week and making this Sunday night. Thanks for the inspiration!

  34. ....RaeDi says:

    Nice, I usually read all my email in the am and then comment and such in the pm, I took a couple of days off and am back commenting, it nice to do a quick re-read before commenting, too you have had time to think about the blog and realize like with this recipe that it is one I will try, mushrooms, garlic (which I had the scrapes) but thin sliced garlic will do, it sure sounds delicious….RaeDi

  35. Pingback: Shitake Logs Explained* (Lentinula edodes) « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  36. Mom says:

    These were good. Dad really liked them and he normally doesn’t like shitakes or creminis (I used both). By the way, just FYO, these are the immature flower stalks of hardneck garlic and if you let them grow they will eventually produce flowers on top (of, course at some expense to the bulbs underground). Eventually you can plant the little bulblets which develop on the scapes but it will take 2 years to get a full sized bulb underground. Sounds like you need one less dog but by now he is probably part of the family and you can’t just send him packing. Maybe the underground bulbs are still worth harvesting.
    Mom

  37. Pingback: Trimming Garlic Scapes and Plucking Flowers | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

