Frigid Russian

There should be alcoholic ice cream in the freezer aisle

Because it’s just too dang hot for a White Russian….

Frigid Russian

  • 2 cups Vanilla ice cream
  • 1 ounce Kahlua
  • 1/2 ounce vodka
  • chocolate syrup to taste
  • Maraschino cherry for garnish

Blend ice cream and liquors in blender. If mixture is too thick add more liquor. If it’s too thin add more ice cream. (This is highly scientific here.) Swirl some chocolate syrup around the inside of a glass and make pretty designs if you’d like. Pour ice cream mixture into glass and garnish with cherry.

On another note, Yummy Chunklet, my favorite Chicago trial attorney, OK, she’s the only one I know, gave me the Versatile blogger award and quite a few others earlier this month. Truly flattering. Since she was celebrating the entire month of May, her birthday month, I thought it’d be nice to end the month with a thank you and a Happy Birthday! Now, go check out her wonderful blog!

To see my list click here and for others nice enough to bestow the award on me click here or here.

 

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Frigid Russian

  1. choco-kahlua milkshake? hello!

  2. ChefMom says:

    Great picture and presentation! I’m not big on the chocolate, but the rest of it sounds delicious! I haven’t had Kahlua in a long-time. I may have to remedy that one of these days. ;)

  3. The picture and presentation are simply works of art!

  4. Oh yummy, a grown ups milkshake – we don’t keep vodka on hand so we would replace it with whiskey, or does that make it too much like a Dom Pedro?
    Congratulations on all the awards! :-) Mandy

  5. Congratulations on the awards – very much deserved! And thanks for another yummy recipe. Am so jealous of your fantastic photos.

  6. Hey congrats on the award! SO well deserved especially if you keep sharing recipes like this!

  7. Wow this looks so good! We’ve been making White Russians at home quite a bit. I had never even thought of a frozen version! We’ll have to try this and enjoy it on the patio. Thanks for sharing- and congrats on the award!

  8. Jessica says:

    I have been looking through all your posts this morning and I am way impressed. I believe I just found another favorite food blog. Your writing style is exceptional and I love your photos and step by steps guides you do. Love the blog- just love it! Will be back often to gleam insight from you! :)

  9. Everything on your blog looks so fabulous and tempting; I definitely agree that you deserve these awards. Congratulations! I made your spicy shrimp dip for a gathering this weekend and it was a big hit. Delicious, thank you!

  10. Memorial Day weekend was wonderful and now I look forward to graduations this weekend with biscotti ” a la Rufus-Greg-Katherine”. Thank you. We have loads of Kahlua as we go to Mexico frequently…is there a shelf life for it? Another inviting photograph!

  11. Nice! The hubby and I are always searching for something yummy in the form of an adult beverage. I love white russians! I agree with yumyyumyyummers with the whole Kahlua and chocolate! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Kelly says:

    Greg, how do you manage to make everything look so incredibly good? The Frigid Russian looks like an oil painting and the deviled delights… are the red dots on the plate or did you somehow fashion these as well? Wow.

    • Thanks! I am glad someone noticed. I hand painted that plate after carefully molding it and glazing it. Kiln work does take time. OK, really my wife got it at Target, because she got tired of seeing the same plate over and over. And the pretty chocolate? She did that too. We didn’t have syrup so she melted a dark chocolate bar and used a pastry brush to paint it on. Gorgeous, right? Um, yeah then it froze. She felt really bad. It took a lot of soaking time to get that out. I think we’ll be stocking the actual syrup from now on!

  13. Charles says:

    Damn, I’ve still never had Kahlua – need to fix that, and while I’m sitting here stuck in this stuffy office at 3pm, that tall frosty delicious drink looks sooooooo good right now :(

    Meh… back to work I guess :(

  14. nrhatch says:

    Sounds grand!

    We had homemade Strawberry ice cream last night. Also, yummy.

  15. I love coffee and chocolate and oh the Kahlua just kicked it up a notch! Yumm!

  16. Gina Marie says:

    My house is never without Kahlua and Vodka since my favorite drink is a black russian. I can’t wait to make this during the summer. Yummy!

  17. Love, love, love this drink! Alcoholic cool beverages are my favorite, though I may double up on the Kahlua and omit the vodka. Then again, the vodka amount is so small, I may keep it in!

  18. midaevalmaiden says:

    all I can say is, that looks heavenly. Will you have more of these awesome drink posts? I like them. :)

  19. Tiff says:

    Looks devine! Congrats on the award.

  20. Hrm… why don’t I eat the ice cream with the cherry and the chocolate syrup but lose the alcohol? lol. That sounds like my type of dessert. Now I want ice cream.

  21. Yum. And brrr. Gives me the chills just looking at it – in a good way!

  22. Caroline says:

    Well this is just sinful. I don’t even like chocolate, and this looks extremely delicious. What a great combo.

  23. eva626 says:

    the chocolate syrup sure does add a not of photogenic-ness to the Frigid Russian!!!

  24. Absolutely!! there should be alcoholic icecream in the freezer aisles….:)

  25. Kas says:

    “There should be alcoholic ice cream in the freezer aisle”. Ditto. :)

  26. I seriously NEED one of these Rufus! Love the title of your post. Kahlua and icecream with chocolate…how could you get any better?

  27. Serena says:

    Congrats on your awards, you deserve them. And if I had some vodka that I could legally drink, I’d be making this in an instant :)

  28. Bethea says:

    Never has liquor been so alluring.

  29. rsmacaalay says:

    I love how the chocolate syrup was lined in that glass, yummy!

  30. Linda says:

    It’s a work of art! Depending on the guests invited, I like to end a dinner party with an alcoholic dessert drink instead of the usual “dessert” and this would be very fitting….not to mention fun and delicious!!

  31. OMG, that looks divine! Kahlua? Ice Cream? Chocolate? That’s a menage a trois made in heaven!

  32. Mmmmm YUMMY!!! Ben and Jerry’s used to make an a flavor called White Russian, and it was fabulous, sadly they stopped carrying it. I will be making your version in the near future. Have you ever tried wine sorbets? I know its not ice cream, but they are tasty and come in a variety of flavors to compliment your meals.

  33. Liz says:

    Oh, yah! Looks delicious. !You are right. There should be alcoholic ice cream in the freezer aisle.

  34. WOOOAH! I think I found my summer indulgence!

  35. saminacooks says:

    LOL Love the name! I am sending this one to my husband. He HAS to make this one for me!

  36. Rhelda says:

    I must try this! Seems more like dessert.

  37. Kathiza says:

    This would have been the perfect thing for a hot day like today was… Looks great! Love your pictures. Do you take them all yourself?

  38. Yuri says:

    I don’t care if its past-midnight, I want one of these right now!

  39. You always have the most enticing photographs.

  40. Pingback: Tabouleh and a thank you | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  41. Pingback: Toasting the New Year | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  42. Pingback: The Russians are Coming | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

