That’s a spicy shrimp dip

What a fancy chips and dip container

Because dairy is good for you…

Spicy Shrimp Dip

  • 12-14 fresh, medium-sized shrimp
  • 2-3 tsp Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, at room temp
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 2 fresh jalapenos, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika

Peel and devein shrimp. Chop into small pieces. Heat olive oil in a sauté pan over medium heat. When oil is hot, saute onion until translucent. Add shrimp and cook until pink. Throw in jalapeno and cook until tender. Spoon contents of pan into a bowl. Add wine to pan and deglaze, using a spatula to scrape up bits. In a separate bowl, mix cream cheese and yogurt. Add wine with all the scraped up bits and beat with an  electric mixer until smooth. Add the cooled shrimp and remaining ingredients. Mix by hand until incorporated. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Serve with pita chips, tortillas or those fancy crackers that cost more than a Starbucks latte.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Recipes, Seafood, Sides and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to That’s a spicy shrimp dip

  1. A fancy container indeed!
    Anything out of that must taste yummy :)

  2. Heavenly dip and I love your dip container!
    We don’t get Old Bay seasoning – what could I replace it with? :-) Mandy

  3. ChefMom says:

    We had spicy shrimp tonight too. :) This looks yummy. I LOVE shrimp! What is Old Bay seasoning?

  4. I have a few awards for you on my blog :)

  5. Charles says:

    Mmm, what can I say? It’s dip, it’s got shrimp and it’s spicy – all my favourite things! Bet it’s delicious. Never tried a dip with shrimp in before but this looks like it’s going to be tried next time I have some friends over :)

  6. Joyti says:

    That sounds delicious – I bet it would be the most popular appetizer at any party.

  7. I agree with everyone on this – looks wonderful, and the pot is stunning too. Am looking forward to finding out with the others what Old Bay Seasoning is. Sounds very exotic and romantic – love the name!

  8. Charles says:

    For those wondering, it seems it’s a brand:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Bay_Seasoning. It seems to be a mix of:

    mustard, paprika, celery seed, bay leaf, both black and red pepper, cinnamon, cloves, allspice, nutmeg, cardamom, salt, mace and ginger.

    Sounds yummy, I must say :)

  9. We’re always looking for yummy things to take our friends for Sunday afternoon gatherings, this looks perfect. I grew up with my dad boiling a big pot of shrimp with Old Bay — that was it: just Old Bay and shrimp! We always looked forward to that meal, it’s a wonderful combination.

  10. I’ll have to bookmark this one for graduation and birthday parties coming up. Need to look for the Old Bay when I go out. Thank you.

  11. Linda says:

    I bet that is a chip and dip dish from way back as I think my mom had one very similar! This is an interesting recipe having the shrimp sauted and reduced with the wine, definitely would intensify the flavors than a dip that was simply blended together. Gotta try this one!

  12. I love the look of this dip. Yum!

  13. annaconnelly says:

    I almost forgot seafood makes me sick – you make it look so DELICIOUS!

  14. martko1964 says:

    Never met a dip that I didn’t like. I am totally trying this one. Great recipe!

  15. Yuri says:

    I love that dip container [and would like to try what’s in it too] :)

  16. Christina says:

    Oh, this dip looks super delicious! I love simple dips for summer….I can’t wait to give this a try! :D

  17. I am sold on any recipe that has seafood. Need to give this a try next time i have a BBQ

  18. Shrimp and old bay.. I love it. You know I am making this right? So delicious that my mouth is watering.

  19. TasteFood says:

    This sounds dangerously addictive. Yum.

  20. You can (almost) never go wrong with Old Bay!

  21. yum! this looks so good! shrimp, cream cheese, wine, chips… ugh! reading this is making me hungry!!! ;-)

  22. Caroline says:

    Yummm this looks great. Can’t go wrong using wine as an ingredient. I’m really loving the chip plate/dip bowl. Too pretty/cool!

  23. eva626 says:

    hey i had a question about shrimp…off topic but how does one cook shrimps but prevent their shrinkage???

  24. That looks delicious!

  25. Amy says:

    Mmm, this looks creamy and amazing! It reminds me of a shrimp salad but in dip form. I think I may make this even though my bf doesn’t like shrimp…more for me ;)

  26. Yes!! No mayo = my kind of dip!!! Sounds and looks delicious.

  27. Mmm shrimp dip. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Old Bay seasoning, but I’ll definitely be on the lookout for it on my next grocery trip!

  28. rsmacaalay says:

    What a great dip, this will become easily my favourite!

  29. NJC says:

    That looks wicked good. I could see making it a little thinner and using it as a topping for a nice grilled steak. Thanks for the idea!

  30. Pingback: Your one-stop shop for game day apps | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  31. Pingback: Your one-stop shop for game day apps | Sad Man's Tongue Rockabilly Bar & Bistro – Prague

Leave a Reply

