Strawberry lemonade with or without a kick

A little rum never hurt either

Strawberry lemonade

  • 2 cups strawberries
  • 1 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 24 ounces of sparkling water or bottle of prosecco or cava

Combine sugar and water in two-quart stockpot over medium heat, stirring occasionally until dissolved. Allow to cool. In blender, puree strawberries with lemon juice and simple syrup. Refrigerate for a few hours. When ready to serve add the carbonated beverage of your choice. We used the soda water, but adding a nice sparkling wine would create a wonderful alternative to a mimosa.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Strawberry lemonade with or without a kick

  1. I’ll definitely take this strawberry lemonade with a kick! Looks refreshing!

  2. With a kick for a cocktail party sounds fabulous. :-) Mandy

  3. lindalyell says:

    You are one heck of a bartender!

  4. Errign says:

    This looks perfect for a summer party…or just a spring afternoon outside (kick included!) :) Thanks for sharing!

  5. Alison says:

    I am loving the strawberry series! This looks like a definite keeper, too.

  6. ChefMom says:

    I want this right now! Delicious! Strawberry lemonade is one of my favorite summer time treats, but I’ve never made it at home. I like when the rim of the glass is rolled in sugar too. Yum!

  7. I think you knew I was going to love this lol. I adore strawberry lemonade and I love your method. This is sooo getting made today. Hope you and Katherine are well :)

  8. maureen says:

    I can’t wait to serve this to my guests this summer…
    (I think summer will eventually return..It’s a balmy 45 degrees today..)
    thanks for the great recipe ideas..
    maureen

  9. ryoko861 says:

    Wow, you could put this in a punch bowl and add some champagne or even ice cream!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  10. Barton says:

    Thanks, this will be the plan for sunday brunch, add some duck eggs and asparagus and it is California spring delight

  11. Umm yes please. This sounds refreshing! Thanks for sharing.

  12. TasteFood says:

    We have our first heat wave right now, and this drink looks great. With a kick, please.

  13. I cannot wait for warmer weather to hit Toronto so I can try this!

  14. Yuri says:

    Ohh I want mine with prosecco, please! :D

  15. vronskitchen says:

    Looks Great! I love Strawberry Lemonade!

  16. Young Wifey says:

    Rufus, looks great, colorful and yummy… And we have similar dinner plates!

  17. With a kick! I can totally see this drink being just happiness on a summer day sitting on the porch! Yummy, I love anything with lemonaid.

  18. Karen says:

    I made this tonight using sparkling water and it was delicious! Not too sweet which was great! I thought maybe it wouldn’t turn out very well because I went the cheap route and used the bottled lemon juice, but it still tasted very fresh. Thank you!

  19. WOW I love strawberries and lemonade- I will have to try these ASAP! :)

  20. With or without a kick? There is a choice? ;)

    This reminds me of a drink I had in D.C.! It was blackberry lemonade (with a BIG kick). I’ll have to try this soon. :-)

  21. Wow! So pretty. Must try this when the strawberries are in season here.

  22. Pingback: Simply strawberry | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Hit the Deck | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: Strawberries and Booze Part 1 | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Berry, Berry Good Drinks Part One | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

