Green Bean Salad

I omitted the mushrooms this time due to not having any

This is a quick side that should be made a couple hours before serving. If you do not have balsamic use red wine vinegar and the truffle oil can be omitted. The trick is to barely cook the green beans so they still have a snap when bitten into. My Southern father-in-law wouldn’t approve.

Green Bean Salad

  • 1 lb green beans cleaned and snapped into bite sized pieces
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 ½ tbsp chopped fresh tarragon
  • 2 green onions chopped fine
  • ½ cup thinly sliced cremini mushrooms
  • Drizzle truffle oil (1-2 tsp maximum)
  • Salt/pepper

Steam green beans until barely cooked, about 3-6 minutes. Immediately dunk beans in cold water to stop cooking. Drain and place in a bowl. In a small frying pan, saute the white part of the onions and mushrooms in 1 tbsp butter. Season with salt and pepper. Add to green beans and toss well. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix again. Be careful not to use too much truffle oil or it will overpower the rest of the salad. Chill beans for at least an hour before serving.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Green Bean Salad

  1. Green beans are my favorite! YUM!

  2. rutheh says:

    Sounds delicious!

  3. Simple salads are always the nicest. I wish I could get my hubby to enjoy green beans more. :-) Mandy

  4. Sally says:

    I’ve not tried truffle oil on green beans. Worth a try – good idea. Your beans look like they are bursting with vitamins.

  5. Mel says:

    I can’t believe you make green beans look this delicious :-) I am going to try this this week!

  6. Sounds wonderful! I love the flavor of fresh tarragon. Can’t wait to try it.

  7. ChefMom says:

    It’s about as difficult to get me to eat certain veggies as it is to get the kids to eat them. That said, the last few weeks I’ve been trying different veggies and it seems to me it’s all in the way they are prepared (well, except beets!). We have a green bean dish on the menu this week too. Hopefully it will look as good as this one.

  8. I think you’re turning into a southern man and I can’t say I hate the transformation. I grew up on southern food and every time I see a southern recipe from you it reminds me of my family. This green bean salad is great, same as my moms. You did a great job :). Say hi to Katherine for me.

  9. wanderlust82 says:

    I’ve been looking to change up my salads, I’ll try this one out.

  10. Pat says:

    Wow, that looks yummy. I love green on green salads so this one I will try. I’m elbow deep in pineapple sweet rolls. Maybe that is why the green beans looks so lovely!

  11. JamieAnne says:

    Yummy! Looks very tasty, and I’m southern.

  12. Alison says:

    That looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  13. Yuri says:

    This sounds great with the mushrooms and herbs :)

  14. Maureen says:

    I laughed out loud at the comment about your Southern father-in-law. I spent many years in Tennessee and they like their green beans well cooked, don’t they? This salad looks very inviting!

  15. I love the bright and crisp look of the beans. The truffle oil adds a great touch of decadence!

  16. secretmenu says:

    Good thing I have a bag of green beans in the fridge and your blog in my Google Reader.

  17. Just got some organic green beans today and now I know exactly what I’m going to with them. This looks great!

  18. Beautiful picture. I’m always looking for different ways to incorporate green beans into my diet, so thank you for this!

  19. This tastes great with some toasted walnuts and pomegranate but it has to be served room temp.

  20. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Restaurant Cooking at Home | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Day Recipes in One Place | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Easter’s Here | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Green Beans and Toasted Almonds | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  24. Pingback: All Our Thanksgiving Recipes in One Place (Take Two) | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

