Poached Pears in Champagne

It's fruit. It has to be healthy

This is a fairly healthy option for dessert, especially if you leave out the whipped cream. Make sure to use extra dry champagne, or if you are using prosecco, make sure it’s not too sweet.

Poached Pears in Champagne

  • 1 bottle inexpensive extra dry champagne
  • 4 ripe pears skinned and cored
  • 2 sticks cinnamon
  • 6 whole cloves
  • Cinnamon sugar
  • Fresh amaretto whipped cream

Empty champagne in a stock pot and add cinnamon sticks and whole cloves. Bring to a simmer and add pears. Cook until a knife pierces through each pear easily, about 25 minutes. Serve on top of a dollop of Amaretto whipped cream and sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Poached Pears in Champagne

  1. This is incredible. I don’t know what to say. I feel like this would be a dessert for me to enjoy in a quiet home, curled up with a great book. And I would have to have the whipped cream lol. I can’t wait to try this. I’m getting excited just thinking about it lol.

  2. On my way to buy me some pears tonight! Where do you get your inspiration from? Keep doing great things … and thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks, Sean. I always like poached pears and always see them in riesling. But that can end up being too syrupy or just a waste of wine. We were doing something else with champagne, oh that may be tomorrow’s post, and well you can’t just let that go to waste.

  3. Another amazing recipe! Your blog always makes me drool… and as promised, I am reporting back on your margarita recipe, which i have now tried… excellent indeed… and will stay in my repertoir…. thanks! ;o)

  4. eva626 says:

    very cool dessert!…love the presentation too!!

  5. Young Wifey says:

    Rufus, OMG! I’ve had a very similar recipe on my to do list! Need to try soon!

  6. Maureen says:

    Wowza! I’ve never done pears in Champagne either but it looks divine. I’ve always been plain jain with sugar syrup and a bit of chocolate ganache serving the pear sitting in chantilly cream. You’ve opened my eyes to bigger and better things! Thanks heaps.

  7. This looks absolutely divine!

  8. Yuri says:

    Pears in champagne, so fancy I must try them soon!

  9. Kate Soto says:

    This looks FANTASTIC!

  10. ChefMom says:

    I was showing Mr. N your site tonight and saw this post. Not sure how I missed it, but glad I saw it now. This looks super yummy! Mr. N will be having his poached in grape juice though. ;)

  11. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Gourmet Rice and Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

