Black Eyed Pea and Ham Stew

Add more spice if you prefer it hotter

Here is another great way to use up some of that leftover ham. Much like chili, many different ingredients can be thrown into the pot for a delicious combination. Below are the basic flavor components, after that whatever happens to be in the refrigerator and sounds good can be included. The fresh spices can also be tweaked depending on what’s on hand. Black eyed peas are a great choice because they cook faster than many other dried beans.

Black Eyed Pea and Ham Stew

  • 2 cups black eyed peas
  • 3-4 cups diced cooked ham
  • 1 onion chopped medium
  • 3 ribs celery chopped medium/small
  • 5-8 carrots diced
  • 1 ripe hot jalapeño diced with seeds and ribs
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh sage
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley
  • 1 bunch spinach washed and leaves torn into medium pieces
  • Salt/Pepper

Wash peas in cold water and discard any bad ones or stones. Melt 1 tbsp butter with 1 tbsp olive oil in a large pot and saute onion over low heat. When softened, add celery and carrots and saute until all vegetables begin to soften and onion begins to brown. Add jalapeno and garlic and turn heat up to medium. Cook until fragrant and add peas, fresh spices and ham. Mix well and then add about 8 cups of water. You can use some broth if you want, but the ham imparts plenty of flavor. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then turn down to medium low and simmer until peas are cooked, about 45 minutes. Add more water if it gets too thick. When peas are done add spinach and cook until it wilts, about 2 minutes. Serve immediately.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Recipes, Soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Black Eyed Pea and Ham Stew

  1. Perfect recipe for leftover ham!

  2. A great flavourful one pot meal. :-) Mandy

  3. Are you using dried peas, fresh, or canned?

    Love the combination of flavors!

    PS – Not sure what part of Arkansas you’re in, but having seen the news, I hope you’re ok…

  4. saminacooks says:

    That is what I call comfort food. Love the use of leftover ham lol. I am taking notes because I am definitely going to try making ham, one of these days. Looks delicious!!

  5. ChefMom says:

    This is one of my grandpa’s favorite dishes. What a great use of leftovers. This ham has gone a long way!

  6. JamieAnne says:

    What a great idea for leftover ham! Yum!

  7. Alison says:

    That looks great!

  8. Now this is my kind of recipe! Love black-eyed peas and ready to make a dish like this, too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  9. SimpleP says:

    I’m always looking for good soup recipes. This looks delicious!

  10. Rufus you have definitely tapped into your southern roots by cooking these black eyed peas with ham. My grandmother used to use another pork product to season the peas as well. I feel like I’m back in the country and I LOVE IT. Thanks for the memories :)

    • Ha, my family’s from Boston. Katherine’s got the Southern parents. Between that and living in the South for six years, I’m definitely in touch with the Southern side. (We both grew up in Maryland, but no one there thinks of themselves as Southern.)

  11. I am going to have to try this recipe. I am a pure Northern girl and there is nothing like a good soup on a cold day.

  12. Sana says:

    What a colorful soup!! Thanks for your comment on my avocado & chickpea salad on UMBC eats!

  13. Rachel says:

    This sounds really good. Do people really have *leftover* ham? Mmmm… mine seems to disappear all by itself! (grin)

  14. karencooking says:

    I’ve definitely got leftover ham, and I do love black-eyed peas. I’m trying this!

  15. Patrice Helmar says:

    This soup looks so incredibly delicious. I wish I had a nice hot bowl now. Love the addition of the jalapeño!!

  16. Used up my leftover ham, but this recipe sounds too good not to try! Going out and buying another ham today just so I can make this.

  17. Pingback: Black Eyed Pea and Ham Stew (via Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide) | ChallengeU2cook

  18. manfoodblog says:

    That looks and sounds wicked good. It looks straight forward to make, too.

  19. Carolyn Chan says:

    It looks so full of flavour and nutrition ! Green pea and ham soup is one of the traditional post-Christmas meals because I get to use up the ham after everyone’s eaten themselves silly.

  20. karencooking says:

    I did, indeed, try this the other night and it was a big hit with the entire family! We really liked the subtle sage flavor (although, I have to admit, I used dried because I didn’t have any fresh on hand – but I was pleased with the result). In fact, my husband said he liked this recipe better than our “usual” ham and bean soup!

  21. I bought a bag of black eyed peas a while ago and still haven’t used them. This looks great… I’ll have to give it a shot next week!

  22. Pingback: Lucky black-eyed pea cakes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  23. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: To Bring Wealth and Health | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

