A Better Chicken Cordon Bleu

What a hot pocket should look like

Here is a good use of leftover ham. This is somewhat different than what most people would consider Chicken Cordon Bleu but I like it better. Of course it is my invention, so I may not be impartial.

The Hollandaise sauce is taken directly from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking and really adds a layer of flavor while keeping the chicken from drying out while baking. I used Gruyere, but Swiss will work fine.

Better Chicken Cordon Bleu

  • 1 chicken breast per person
  • 1 thick slice of ham per person
  • 1 batch Hollandaise sauce
  • 1 tsp crumbled blue cheese per person
  • 2 thick slices Gruyere per person
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 egg mixed with about 2 tbsp water
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • Salt/pepper

Remove tender from chicken breast and reserve for another meal. Mix bread crumbs with salt, pepper and some parsley in a bowl. Butterfly each chicken breast and then pound out to 1/4” thick. Season with pinch parsley, salt and pepper. Slice ham into long thin strips. Slice 1 piece of Gruyere the same way for each chicken breast. Spread Hollandaise sauce over chicken breast then layer with cheese and ham. Tucking in the sides tightly, roll each breast up with the ham slices parallel to you. Dunk each roll in egg wash and then into breadcrumbs. Place in a greased baking dish and repeat with the rest of the chicken breasts. Bake at 365 degrees until cooked, about 30 minutes. Ten minutes before done top each roll with a slice of Gruyere.

Julia’s Hollandaise

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • Salt pepper

Place egg yolks in a blender. Season with salt and pepper and add lemon juice. In a small sauce pan melt butter until it foams. Turn blender on to high and after a few seconds add hot butter in a slow drizzle while keeping the blender running. The sauce will thicken within a minute. Use immediately or freeze for later.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Better Chicken Cordon Bleu

  1. ChefMom says:

    Funny, I saw the picture and wondered if you used some leftover ham. ;) Sure enough. Looks fantastic! I love chicken stuffed with ham. This is similar to a dish I order at an Argentinian restaurant. Good stuff!

  2. Laura says:

    Looks delicious! I like your method for making hollandaise. Love that cookbook!

  3. SimpleP says:

    I’d like to have that right now for breakfast!

  4. Yuri says:

    This looks AMAZING.

  5. pcadams says:

    I use “Mastering the Art” on a regular basis–both volumes. They are well worn. The instructions are so thorough that anyone can follow them, given that they take the time to read them completely.

    Peace, Phil

  6. JamieAnne says:

    That looks very good! I don’t own that cook book. Sad huh? I should, I know.

  7. Ohhhh my! This looks incredibly delicious!!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary
    Delightful Bitefuls

  8. This looks and sounds so amazing!

  9. Alison says:

    That looks great!! Definitely better than the one I make. I might just “borrow” your recipe… :) Thanks!

  10. saminacooks says:

    Oh my husband would absolutely devour this!

  11. I love your version of the chicken cordon bleu .. with ham. I love recipes that come from leftover food. They always, to me, come out amazing. So you know I’m trying this recipe right? RIGHT! lol.

  12. This looks delicious! I’ve never made chicken cordon bleu, but I’d like to try at some point soon.

  13. looks delish! and what an awesome way to use up leftover ham from easter wknd.

  14. I could knock back a few of those hot pockets right now. They look delicious!

  15. busybcooks says:

    Inappropriately wonderful looking. I want to eat this now.

  16. Korena says:

    Just today (the day after our Easter ham dinner) I got a complaint of, “ham, again?!” when I served leftovers for dinner… but I have a feeling this wouldn’t get the same response! Looks delicious :)

  17. Oh wow, that looks seriously delicious!

  18. Linda says:

    Oh my gosh! I was looking for some leftover ham recipes and this is the bomb!! Love the flavor combinations!

  19. Caroline says:

    I just ate lunch and this is making me hungry again. I love chicken cordon bleu. Such a delicious combination of flavors…and so healthy for you, right? :) Very worth it though.

  20. Maureen says:

    Rufus, you clever, clever man! This sounds heaps better than plain old cordon bleu to me. It’s all about flavor and texture and yumminess and you win!

  21. cath9689 says:

    Looks amazing!

  22. Holy moly this looks incredible!

  23. smug & smarmy says:

    Ok, I’m not hungry. I just ate a really great dinner. I am not hungry. I am, however, desperate to put this in my mouth. Thanks for the great recipe and I shake my fist at you for the fabulous photo!

  24. whatsaysyou says:

    Just very tempting and yummy too.

  25. beckyyk says:

    Looks delicious…..!!!

  26. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: A Round of Comfort Food | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  27. petit4chocolatier says:

    Excellent idea for ham! Looks delicious :)

  28. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Extra Calories for the Cold | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

