Rack of Lamb with porcini and fresh herbs

A civilized person would still use a knife and fork even with the handy bones still attached

A couple years ago my wife and I went to Australia to discover some of what it had to offer the world in wine. While doing that we also realized how delicious lamb was. New Zealand chops were popular on many a menu. The versatility is similar to beef, but I usually buy beef since it is cheaper here in the states. That said for a special occasion my wife and I have started to pick lamb over veal and fish and so we found ourselves with a rack of lamb for our anniversary dinner. We seared ours and finished in the oven.

The porcini powder makes this dish really stand out, but can be substituted with powder made from dried shitake mushrooms instead. Do not overcook the meat in the oven, it does continue to cook while resting.

You can cut it up into individual servings or present it as is

Rack of Lamb

  • 1 rack of lamb
  • 2 tbsp dried porcini powder
  • 2 tbsp fresh rosemary chopped
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp bread crumbs
  • Salt/pepper
  • Olive oil

Season meat with salt and pepper. Sprinkle about 1 tbsp porcini powder over meatier side of lamb. In a bowl combine rosemary and garlic. Drizzle with olive oil and mash to create a paste. Add breadcrumbs and the rest of porcini powder and mix. Season spices with salt and pepper. Heat olive oil in a pan and add lamb meat side down. Sear until browned over medium high heat, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and flip lamb rack over. Let cool and then rub spice mixture all over top and sides of lamb rack. Place in oven set to 365 degrees and bake until lamb reads 120-130 degrees at center, about 20 minutes. Remove from oven and let stand 15 minutes. Serve on a bed of garlic mashed potatoes.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Lamb, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Rack of Lamb with porcini and fresh herbs

  1. minimal says:

    Yummy, those pictures make me hungry :)
    We usually eat a lot of lamb when we are in Sweden, where we live, mainly because lamb are usually kept out in the free. Right now we are travelling around the world (in Australia atm) and haven’t eaten lamb in a while due to our tight budget :(

  2. JamieAnne says:

    I’m not sure if I have ever had lamb. It looks pretty dang good. Hope you and your wife had a wonderful anniversary!

  3. The Writer says:

    That looks amazing. I am never certain how to cook lamb, but I’ll try your method next time.

  4. I am for sure going to make this for my next dinner party. Looks and sounds amazing!

  5. Alison says:

    This looks great! Happy Anniversary!!

  6. Happy anniversary to you and your wife!
    This lamb looks like it made for a delicious meal :)

  7. pcadams says:

    I guess I’m not civilized! I love to eat rack of lamb with my fingers. Sigh. Civility, BAH!

  8. Lea Ann says:

    I’m so glad you took the time to comment on my blog, because it’s sent me your way. From what I’ve seen, your site offers up some mouthwatering food. I’m a new subscriber and look forward to your posts.

  9. Alli says:

    Oh wow, that is a gorgeous rack (har har har) — a definite inspiration for Easter dinner tomorrow!

    Oh, and happy anniversary!

  10. ChefMom says:

    Happy Anniversary! I would love to get to Australia and New Zealand! Hubby and I also love to take trips to discover new wines. Visiting wineries is one of our favorite things to do when we have the chance. Did you discover any favorites? Great lamb recipe too!

    • We were actually pleasantly surprised by their chardonnays. More like blown away. They used oak, but unlike many a California chardonnay they did it right. We also had some fabulous pinot noirs and cabernets. I haven’t seen any of the labels in the U.S. We were in the Yarra Valley outside Melbourne.

  11. Rita says:

    Lamb is definitely one of my favourite kind of meat. I’ve never heard of dried porcini powder and I’m not sure it’s something that can be found here in Italy (we have sliced dried porcini as well as fresh porcini, though….). Anyway, this dish sounds fantastic and really savoury!! :P

  12. I can not believe I am late on trying out Rack of Lamb. What is wrong with me? lol. So I am going to take the plunge and buy some and use this recipe for my first rack of lamb dish. Thanks Rufus, for sharing this.

  13. Bethea says:

    I have never tried lamb before- but I’ve always wanted to. This recipe looks great and absolutely delicious.

  14. Kas says:

    Happy Anniversary! This recipe sounds and looks delicious – can’t wait to try it!

  15. Well, well, Happy Anniversary to you and your wife! Looks like you had a very lovely and yummy anniversary dinner…I’ve got to try my hand at lamb one of these days. This looks amazing.

  16. Pingback: What I’m reading this week in blog land | A Dash of Domestic

  17. I’ve never attempted making rack of lamb, but yours look like perfection!

  18. It’s 1AM in my neck of the woods but this rack of lamb really makes me want to go out and get some! This looks AMAZING.

    Happy Anniversary!

  19. Copis says:

    Wow. VERY excited to surprise my husband with this one. Beautiful photography too – thanks for sharing!

  20. Amy says:

    Oh my, that looks amazing. I haven’t had rack of lamb in forever!

  21. Dora says:

    That rack of lamb looks perfectly cooked and juicy…yum! What kind of sauce would you serve with it?

  22. I love lamb, this looks amazing. Marking it to try soon, ty for sharing!

  23. Im so not a huge lamb fan– but I WANT that lamb :-0!!

  24. Pingback: Marinated Roasted Lamb « Manna and Quail

  25. Wow! I’ve got to try this!

  26. Pingback: Seven Links (and then some) Challenge | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  27. Pingback: Sunday Suppers | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  28. Pingback: For the Love of Blog: Rufus Turns Two | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  29. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Restaurant Cooking at Home | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

