Beans and Greens

The recipe calls for much more than pictured

Some people would describe this soup as peasant food and it is hard to argue that the ingredients are very fancy. That said it is a flavor filled fantastic soup and I for one sometimes tire of the bourgeois lifestyle.

A few notes. I like to use an equal mix of garbanzo, Lima and navy beans but any slow cooking white bean mixture will work. I also prefer turnip greens, but collards or kale can be used as well. Spinach is too delicate both in flavor and consistency for this particular dish.

Greens and Beans

  • 1 onion diced medium
  • 3 ribs celery chopped small
  • 2-3 cups mixed white beans
  • 1 ham hock
  • 1 quart chicken stock
  • 1 quart water
  • 6 basil leaves
  • 1 bunch turnip greens
  • Salt/pepper
  • Good hot sauce (I like Tapatio)

The night before or in the morning wash beans, remove any stones and soak in cold water. Let set at least a day. Melt 1 tbsp butter with 1 tbsp olive oil and saute the onion over low heat until it darkens. Don’t let the onion burn. Add celery and cook until somewhat translucent. Add ham hock, beans broth and water. Bring to a boil and skim off any foam. Turn down to a simmer and tear basil leaves into small pieces and add to soup. Season with salt and pepper. Cook until beans are soft, about 1 ½ hours. Meanwhile wash the greens well. Remove the rib from each leaf and cut into medium sized pieces. When beans are cooked, remove ham hock and cool. Cut meat from the bone and add to soup with the greens. Cook until wilted about 5-10 minutes more. Serve in bowls drizzled with hot sauce and a crusty piece of bread on the side.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Beans and Greens

  1. Great and healthy recipe! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Laura says:

    I love soup because it’s so filling and healthy too. I think dry soaked beans taste so much better than the ones in the can. I’ve never used turnip greens before but this recipe has inspired me to try!

  3. JamieAnne says:

    Looks like a great soup. I made beans today too, but mine were pinto beans.

  4. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Delicious Cod Recipe

  5. Beans are often under rated – your soup sounds super tasty. I have not made soup for a very long time – it is too hot here in Mauritius. I will be getting back to making soups soon though when I return home. :-) Mandy

  6. Yum! Now I know what I’m going to do with the left over ham. Thanks!

  7. Rachel says:

    I never met a bean I didn’t love… I must’ve been Tuscan in a different life! (grin). And greens in soup (or most any way) make me happy as well. Do you soak the beans all together or separately?

    I made a few dishes recently from dry (soaked) garbanzos and it changed my world. Not that canned beans are bad, and its great when one (cough, I mean me) fails to plan ahead, but taking the time to soak the dry kind makes for a whole different dish!

    Thanks for sharing this!

  8. Alison says:

    This sounds great. Thanks for sharing. I love beans of any kind (except black beans… never had a good experience with those yet). This soup is on my “must make or die” list. Thanks.

  9. My grandfather is a huge beans and greens fan. He grew up eating it and still makes it all the time now. :)

  10. I love peasant food. My type of meal and my type of crowd lol. My family history and the way we cook comes from using the scraps that no one else wanted and making a delicious meal. Really enjoyed this Rufus

  11. This soup sounds like a perfect combination of delicious and healthy. My kind of meal :)

  12. Bethea says:

    The child in me wants to start this comment with “beans beans are good for your heart…”

    The grown up in me says that I just can’t eat soups or most foods with so many ingredients all mixed up together where I feel like I don’t know what I’m eating. But I ‘m really weird and I don’t even like my food to touch so I use children’s sectioned plates when I’m eating.

    Even so it reads like it would taste good if I wasn’t so weird haha.

  13. eva626 says:

    beans and lentils are great!

  14. Hsw says:

    We love Tapatio as well! Thank you for your kind comment on my recipe!

Leave a Reply

