A True Margarita

Don't even think about salting the glass

A good margarita is hard to find. Usually made with premixed nonsense, crazy fruit blends and ingredients that are way too sweet, it has transformed from a simple pleasure into a tropical nightmare.

Well the time has come to bring the margarita back.

A few notes. Use only 100 percent agave tequila. I like to use a Reposado, but silver (Plato) tequila is fine. Don’t waste an Anejo for a margarita. My wife prefers blended margaritas but if you want it on the rocks follow the recipe, but just don’t turn on the blender.

Classic Blended Margarita

  • 3-4 limes
  • Triple Sec
  • 100 percent Agave Tequila (Lunazul is a good choice)
  • Ice

Squeeze limes in blender until there is about 1/3 cup of juice. Fill blender with ice leaving just enough room for the cap to go on. Fill blender half way with triple sec. Fill the rest of the way with tequila. Blend until smooth and thick. Keep the pitcher in the freezer until ready to serve.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Mexican, Recipes, Spirits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A True Margarita

  1. lindalyell says:

    You are my new hero! This recipe is going down on our bar!

  2. eva626 says:

    i love lemons…anything to substitute the alcoholic part with??

  3. Oh my…this sounds so good…lime lovers fantasy…or madness.

  4. ChefMom says:

    This sounds perfect! Is 9 a.m. to early to have one?!

  5. Liz says:

    Sounds perfectly delicious.

  6. Do you think 10:41a.m. is too early for this yummy looking, gorgeous drink? ;-)

  7. Well, it is after 5p.m. somewhere in the world ;-)

    I left my previous comment before I read ChefMom’s one – great mind think alike or drunk mind do?
    Cheers!

  8. Margarita is my absolute favorite… have not had a decent margarita since I moved away from the US… so I completely agree that a good margarita is hard to find… so is tequila, by the way… choice is very limited compared to that of the good’ol USA… having said that- yep- here’s my royal wedding weekend cocktail, I will try your recipe and will report back! ;o) Looks and sounds fab!

  9. Bethea says:

    That looks great- but I’ve never been a fan of tequila in any form. My belly doesn’t like it.

  10. Bean says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog the other day! :)

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a margarita that wasn’t chock full of sugar, so this looks quite tasty! Now if the snow would get off the ground, then I might actually feel justified in having one of these!

  11. Laura says:

    Sounds refreshing! By the way, you’re invited to my virtual dinner party: http://wp.me/p1hWXH-ng

  12. Yes, a real margarita! Don’t get me wrong, I’ll drink the ones at restaurants, but this is how I’ve been making them at home for a while now. So much better than the premix!

  13. omnomally says:

    That looks so refreshing and delicious :D Have written down your suggestion of a good tequila, hoping I can find it here in Melbourne, Aus.

  14. This looks awesome! I do love a real margarita adding this to my summer drink menu

  15. Jessica says:

    Margaritas are my favorite mixed drink! I know you said you like them in purest form, but have you had a cactus pear margarita? They’re popular here (San Antonio) and are always frozen. The cactus pear puree is kind of sweet, but not overly, and they pour it on top of the margarita, so it’s not all blended together. So good!

  16. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. I made these over the weekend for our annual “f*ck winter” patio party. First weekend of May every year now for 5 years, and this time first time no one was drinking what they brought but almost inhaling these margaritas! Made 2 trips to the store for more lime, haha. Had to share what a success they were! Thanks for sharing it, was fantastic. Cannot wait to try the strawberry lemonade drink next weekend!

  18. Judy says:

    Found this through your Peace Margarita post, since I’m not a fan of flavored margaritas, I thought I’d check this out. Perfect! Truly what a margarita should be like, forget the premixed imitators.

  19. Pingback: Peach margaritas | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: Blood Orange Margarita and other cocktails for taco night | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

