Pasta with Capers and Tuna

Don't add too much cheese or it just gets gooey

Not only is this dinner quick to prepare, it also can be made to feed one or many people. Not to mention it tastes really good.

A few notes. If you do not have salted capers use small capers in brine without the brine. Tuna packed in water can be substituted for the oil, just add a little olive oil with the butter while frying the vegetables. I like cremini mushrooms, but really any will work. This will feed four hungry people as it is. It’s one of our favorite weeknight meals, because it uses mainly pantry ingredients and comes together quickly.

Rigatoni with Tuna, Capers and Mozzarella

  • 1 box Rigatoni
  • 1 can chunk tuna packed in oil
  • 5-6 green onions chopped
  • 5 medium mushrooms halved and chopped ¼” thick
  • 3 large cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp salted capers
  • ½ cup shredded mozzarella
  • ¼ cup grated Romano
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • Salt/pepper

Cook pasta in boiling salted water until al dente. Strain and then toss with 1 tbsp parsley and black pepper to taste while pasta is still hot. In the pan used to cook the pasta, add the butter and oil from the tuna can. Over medium heat sauté the white part of the green onions until they soften. Add mushrooms and garlic and sauté until mushrooms start to brown. Add capers, parsley, green parts of onion and tuna and cook for a minute or two. Add pasta back to pan and mix well. Remove from heat and add cheese. Mix quickly so cheese melts evenly over pasta. Serve with salad or other vegetable.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Food, Italian, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Pasta with Capers and Tuna

  1. fatisrecipes says:

    YUM! I’m going to try this one soon! :D

  2. Laura says:

    Looks great! I love quick and easy recipes for weeknights! The capers sounds like a great idea.

  3. Creamy and dreamy just the way I like it :)

  4. boogie. says:

    so funny… i had my elbow on my keyboard shelf & my chin on my palms. the keyboard shelf started moving closer into the picture of the pasta. hahaha! looks so delicious!

  5. whatsaysyou says:

    Creamy, yummy and pasta-licious!

  6. A modern day Tuna Noodle Casserole… yum! Combination of earthy mushrooms & salty capers sounds great.

  7. christiansinglemother says:

    As soon as I am allowed to have tuna again, I am going to make this. Looks amazing!

  8. Bonnie @ Savoring Simplicity says:

    We love this kind of recipe at my house. I’m always looking for another pasta dish.

  9. OlieAndBread says:

    What place is in your header? so beautiful place… i like it ;)

    Olie

  10. Vopportunist says:

    thanks for visiting my photoblog :) your blog looks very delicious! will try this recipe the next time I’m in the mood for some tuna (just made tuna melt sandwich for lunch today)

  11. justaturner says:

    That looks fantastic!

  12. Christina says:

    This looks sooo easy for a weeknight meal! I am bookmarking this! :)

  13. Pingback: Pasta with Capers and Tuna (via Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  14. Michelle says:

    This looks delish. I’ll have to try it.

  15. David Lockeretz says:

    Looks good – I’ll have to try this.

  16. theshechef says:

    This looks scrumptious! I just may try this recipe this week.

  17. Amy says:

    This looks delish! I’m always trying to find a good, quick weeknight meal. Thanks :)

  18. Lia says:

    I love tuna and pasta. This sounds so good to me, and it contains all those pantry items one would typically have on hand, defiantly have to give this a shot!

  19. Picture the Skies says:

    Yum! >.<
    It really looks delicious!

  20. It’s only 9:30am here in Germany and my mouth is watering. OMG. I MUST have this!

  21. Just tried this! DELISH! :-))) Thanks for the idea! Super simple and tasty!

  22. Pingback: Pasta, Capers, and Tuna – A Dream! « The Diary of Sugar and Spice

  23. Perfect! I’ve been on a trying capers kick lately. Can’t wait to try this. (lately they’ve been ending up in the crock pot w/ chick breasts, ranch dressing and lemon juice).

  24. Pingback: Asparagus and beef rice bowl | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  25. Pingback: Pasta Salad with Feta and Red Pepper | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

