Caesar Salad

There usually is not any left over

I have always found the fact that this was invented in America hilarious. OK, it was an Italian immigrant living in San Diego, but I count that as red, white and blue.

I prefer to coddle the eggs, but for the purist they should be raw. I always use Romano instead of Parmesan because Romano is the superior cheese. You will need a large wooden bowl to make this in. I don’t know why it comes out better in a wooden bowl, just trust me. Throw away any salad that’s left over because of the raw egg.

Caesar Salad

  • 2 large cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 8 anchovy fillets minced
  • 6 whole anchovy fillets
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 green onion diced
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 large bunch romaine lettuce
  • ½ cup Romano shredded
  • 1 cup croutons

Rub one clove garlic into bowl then discard what remains. Mince the other clove and put in bowl along with the oil, Worcestershire sauce, minced anchovies, Dijon mustard, lemon juice and green onion. Whisk together and season with salt and pepper. Right before serving bring a pot of water to a heavy boil. Add eggs and cook for 20 seconds. Remove from water and crack egg into bowl. Whisk together again. Tear lettuce in large chunks and sprinkle with cheese. Toss well to incorporate dressing. Add croutons and toss again. Serve immediately garnished with extra anchovies.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Caesar Salad

  1. joannaelaine says:

    I’ve never attempted to make my own salad dressing before. I might have to try this. Btw, thanks for posting on my blog!

  2. Yum, I love homemade dressings!

  3. Babygirl says:

    If you want me to be honest, I could care less who came up with the idea, as long as they made it lol. Ceasar salad is my favorite salad. Whenever I want a salad that’s the one I order but I always make it differently at home. I am definitely going to try out your recipe and I am so excited to do so. Great post.

  4. Errign says:

    I am not a huge fan of the commercial Caesar salad, but one with homemade fresh dressing is usually super delicious!

  5. Kathryn says:

    Mmmm I have never made Caesar Salad, but I do love it! Will have to give this one a try…

  6. Homemade Caesar dressing/salad is one of my faves! Your recipe sounds deeeelish!!! :) And your photos are impressive (and making me hungry!!)!

  7. Caesar on the brain, indeed! I agree – the big wooden bowl is always my choice for mixing up salads.

  8. Wonderful salad dressing! I love caesar salad , and I do make it with fresh eggs, no need to throw it out , because the bowl is always empty! Look forward to following your blog, what fun! ~Maggie

  9. ChefMom says:

    I’ve never tried to make a caesar salad before – I think the raw egg always intimidated me. This looks delicious though and would give me an excuse to buy a wooden bowl! ;)

  10. Pingback: Caesar Salad | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide | Yahoo Android Iphone

  11. Kim says:

    I haven’t sen leftovers from a Caesar’s Salad before :D

  12. Charity says:

    That looks really good! I’ll definitely be trying that sometime soon.

  13. Oh my God. Those potatoes look incredible.

  14. Judy says:

    This looks very similar to my own recipe…love Caesar Salad with real egg and anchovy!

  15. Gorgeous! I need this in my life….! Looks like I’ll be making this very soon. :-)

  16. Pingback: Buttermilk Chicken Legs | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Pingback: What To Make With What’s On Sale: Lettuce Salads (Six Recipe Ideas!)

  18. Pingback: What To Make With What’s On Sale: Lettuce Salads

  19. Pingback: So Long Summer Sunday Supper | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  20. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Soup and… | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Pingback: Twelve Days of Christmas: Christmas Eve Dinner | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  22. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Summer Salad Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

