Arugula Sprouts

I pulled about 25% out this time

After only a week the arugula seeds have sprouted and now it’s time to thin. I will end up doing this probably two more times. Basically I pluck out a certain amount of seedlings to help the ones that remain grow bigger and stronger. Naturally, you want to remove the seedlings that look weaker and try to create an even spacing between them. I like to thin in stages to keep from removing too many plants all at once. Can’t wait to have this in salads and pesto. The stuff we grow is always more peppery than what we buy. And since we harvest it so early, we can replant the area with something new mid season.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Garden, How to and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Arugula Sprouts

  1. Toss the ones you thin-out onto a salad! Gourmet sprouts for free!

    Thanks for the comment on my blog yesterday… You might be jealous of my winter carrot harvest, but I’m a good month away from salad greens…

  2. I am jealous you can get something in the ground already! Ours is still frozen… How many weeks before harvest? I haven’t tried arugula before.

  3. Joe says:

    I love the pepperyness of fresh arugula. Don’t let anyone tell you it’s just for wimps or food snobs! Your growing season is a lot earlier than ours. We’ve had days in the 70s, but last night was in the 20s and are facing snow tonight.

  4. I have all kinds of seeds coming up in pots. It is in the 30s and 40s here this week, so nothing in the ground for us yet. I can’t wait for fresh tomatoes, okra, peppers, etc. I used to garden big time but mostly just pots and beds now. Your arugula looks great. Have a good weekend.

  5. Uncle Charlie says:

    My preference is a “grilled turkey and cheese” w/ fresh rocket after the sandwich is cooked….Nice job on the articles..

  6. Carolyn Chan says:

    I wish I had a garden to plant stuff in – I live in a flat so no outdoor space :( I actually bought alfalfa sprout seeds yesterday though – they can at least grow in a jar and I live in Singapore so plenty of sun. BTW your site is awesome!

  7. bakebooks says:

    Thanks for coming to my site! I’ve never used sprouts before. Wasn’t sure if they held any additional benefit or flavor versus other greens….or if I’d start sprouting trees or something – eek!

  8. crustabakes says:

    I guess its survival of the fittest for these urugula then! i am so impressed you grow you own food! i wish i had the space for it!

  9. Lorrie says:

    Oh very nice! I’ve just bought arugula seeds this weekend and am going to start mine.

  10. eatlovedrink says:

    Great idea to grow this yourself. I’ve always had trouble finding good, fresh arugula in the store — it always seems a little wilty. Think I’m going to go look for arugula seeds at the garden store!

Leave a Reply

