The only brownie recipe you’ll ever need

Here is another guest post from my talented wife.

We're gonna need a bigger glass of milk

Cheesecake. Coffee. Amaretto. Who has enough brownie recipes? (We have three standbys just in our recipe scrapbook.)

Still, I have a hands down, by far favorite. One that’s so popular in fact that almost three years after it was published it’s still on the Los Angeles Times website.It was one of their top 10 recipes of 2008 and was developed by their former test kitchen director Donna Deane — wow, imagine having that job! (They have an awesome food section where you can peruse the top recipes from the last 26 years, check out other bloggers and just spend loads of time drooling.)

But back to the brownies. They’re perfect. Seriously, brownie perfection. Three kinds of chocolate with Grand Mariner to boot. The top is glossy, the inside moist and rich and dense. They always come out just right.

If you kept reading and didn’t click on the link above, here’s the recipe. While I did shorten the instructions a bit, it’s not adapted. You can’t mess with perfection, wait have I used that word already?

Midnight chocolate brownie bites

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 1/2 pound bittersweet chocolate
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon Grand Marnier
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons lightly packed grated orange peel
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup best-quality cocoa
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Line an eight-inch brownie pan with aluminum foil, leaving some overhang. Lightly butter foil.
In a double broiler over simmering water, melt butter and bittersweet chocolate. Stir in the brown sugar until dissolved. Off heat, stir in vanilla, Grand Marnier and orange peel.
Whisk eggs in one at a time, until completely blended.
Sift cocoa, flour and salt, then stir into the batter until blended. Fold in the chips.
Spoon the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, until puffed and almost set. Cool while still in the pan, on a wire rack.
Using the foil, lift the brownies out of the pan and invert onto the cooling rack. Gently peel off foil and return the brownies to their original position. Cool completely. Cut into 25 squares.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The only brownie recipe you’ll ever need

  1. fatisrecipes says:

    Yumm! These look really good. I hate having so many different recipes of just one dish. This one seems to top them. Will try it after I finish the list of recipes I want to try! :)

  2. Babygirl says:

    Rufus are you tempting me with chocolate. Everyone knows I love chocolate now I am viewing your great blog and want a brownie. I seriously want to go into the kitchen, this late at night, and make some brownies lol. I love it. I’m am so saving this post.

  3. Hi Rufus,
    My mouth is watering! Please can you tell me what bittersweet chocolate is as I haven’t seen something like that here on the shelves in South Africa.
    Have a good weekend!

    • My wife actually cheats and uses a dark chocolate sometimes since we have that on hand more often. Basically, bittersweet is just lower in sugar. A good dark will do. The other chocolates and brown sugar will make it plenty sweet.

  4. lindalyell says:

    Sweet! On my ‘to do’ list! thanks.

  5. SoupAddict says:

    Wow, those are gorgeous! You had me at Grand Marnier – beautiful!

  6. Wow those look awesome! I’ve never tried a chocolate/orange brownie. Definitely adding this one to my list…

  7. Kim says:

    Wow! If that’s the result then it must really be the only recipe I need if I’d be into baking!

  8. eva626 says:

    those look sso good! “midnight” hehe who named them??

  9. Christina says:

    Mmmmm…I want one of these brownies right now! They look incredible! :)

  10. me wants brownies! Now! :)

  11. njbrown says:

    These look truly delicious! I’m always on the look-out for a wonderful brownie recipe, and chocolate and orange is one of my favorite combinations.

    Thank you!

  12. Leo says:

    Those sound fantastic! I’ve got 2 go-to brownie recipes – one for really rich brownie, and the other that yields more that I make to take to parties or potlucks. I’ll have to give this one a shot sometime.

  13. karencooking says:

    I love everything about this photo. Especially the red background. Just right.

  14. Wesley says:

    These look amazing! They’re a definite addition to the to-do list at the One-Drawer Kitchen – glad you can commiserate with the tiny space! Perhaps in the warmer months we’ll take advantage of our roof space for some outdoor dining.

  15. Amy says:

    Oh my, those look amazing!!!! Soooo dark and rich looking.

  16. Seriously love your blog:)

  17. Pingback: Great Food and Inspiration…A Blog To Visit | Just Ramblin'

  18. Pingback: The only Fig Tart recipe you’ll need | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Pingback: The only brownie recipe you’ll ever need (via Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide) | Suburban Foodie

  20. Pingback: Brownie parfaits with chocolate mint sauce | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  21. Nancy Brown says:

    Hi Rufus –

    I made the recipe today, and something is very wrong – I think the amount of flour is off. My brownies ended up barely holding together.

    Best wishes,

    Nancy

  22. I have a question… Are the oven temperatures in your recipes degrees Fahrenheit?

  23. thequickanddirtycook says:

    CANNOT Wait to try those! Beautiful!

  24. Nida says:

    Is the duration right? Mine is in the oven right now n they look completely set its only been 15 mins

Leave a Reply

