Bread crumbs

Yeah doggy

This is a fairly simple idea. Buy a multitude of different day-old bakery breads, dry them out in the oven and store until needed. The store-bought stuff can’t touch crumbs from sourdoughs, pumpernickle, rye and others. It also has far less salt. I like to toast them in an oven at 325 degrees. I’ll let the oven come to heat then turn it off with the bread slices inside. Then check them that night. Usually they are dried and ready to be ground in the blender.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, How to, Recipes, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bread crumbs

  1. eva626 says:

    woa that pic is on fire…i love it!

  2. Good idea. Homemade breadcrumbs always taste so much better and fresher than store bought. And they are cheap to make.

    Kathleen

  3. Alison says:

    I want to just eat the bread in that picture, nevermind make breadcrumbs! I make my own breadcrumbs but I have never toasted them first. I have to try that next time! Thanks.

  4. I will be trying this with all the left over bread that I have been making ! Your pics are very nice !!!

  5. Love your recipes! Can’t wait to try the brussel sprouts and the brownies!!!!

  6. love this! I make croutons too and they totally beat store bought- hands down!!

  7. Pingback: Breaded Tomatoes | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  8. Pingback: Chocolate-Pecan Bread Pudding with Bourbon | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

