Black and Blonde

That is a big mug

Normally, I would call you a heretic if there was a mixed stout in your hand. Unless what was in there was called a Black and Blonde.

The best reason why this is so is because both Harp and Guinness are from Ireland. There is no muddling British liquid in this pint. I speak of course of the Black and Tan. A “beverage” that mixes the pure Irish waters of Guinness with the filthy sludge of Bass from England. The other reason is because the sharper paler Harp ale gives the drink a better bite.

So when I mix dark with light it is always a Black and Blonde.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Rants, Spirits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Black and Blonde

  1. Erin Hutton says:

    I’ve never had a black and tan because Bass doesn’t appeal to me. I like Harp though, so I think I’m going to have to try this concept of the black and blonde…

  2. jesselunsford says:

    You sir, are wise. This particular drink is a stand alone. A whole different experience than ore beers.

  3. foodchild says:

    Great idea! I love Guinness but never thought to combine with Harp as well. I’ll get right on that.

  4. tj says:

    I had a successful version here http://tjtalks.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/black-and-tan-for-st-patricks-day-dinner/ a fun St. Patrick’s Day tradition.

  5. brownkw says:

    Guinness truly makes nearly everything better!

  6. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: The Booze Edition | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  7. I use Smithwicks, but am still trying to get that ‘floating’ bit down pat, but the end result always get drunk. hmmmm

Leave a Reply

