Refried Beans

That is how I check to see if they are done

I love taco nights although not for the tacos. True, the tacos are good. Actually the tacos are great, but I always look forward to refried beans.

Of course my refried beans do not come out of a can. They do take far more time than their red headed step kin in a can, but the flavor is so far superior that I would just drop all the canned children off at an orphanage.

The only problem with making them yourself is that they do taste best with lard. I have tried many different types of oil as a substitute, with Crisco coming in as the best alternative, but none come close to lard. Granted Crisco isn’t exactly known for its healthy qualities. Therefore I suggest smaller portions; mine only takes up half the plate.

Refried Beans

3-4 cups dried pinto beans

1 dried ancho chili

1 onion diced fine

1 cup chicken stock

3 tbsp lard/Crisco

Wash beans and discard any stones or bad ones. Cover beans in cold water and soak all day. Tear dried pepper by hand into small pieces and add to beans. Turn heat to high and bring to a boil. Turn heat down to simmer and cook until most of the water is absorbed. Do not stir the beans. Once most of the water is gone, refill with water and cook until beans begin to break apart and are very soft, about a half hour more. Mash beans with a ricer. In a large sauté pan melt fat. Add onion and sauté until it begins to brown, taking care not to let it burn. Add beans and stock. Bring to a simmer and cook until thick stirring occasionally. For a creamy finish add a spoonful of sour cream and cook until thick again.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Mexican, Recipes, Sides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Refried Beans

  1. I shall try a rendition of this!!
    Kamnsamida!
    (Thank you)

  2. nancyc says:

    I’ve never made my own refried beans–bet they’re much better than the canned!
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. Inspire says:

    We fry up some bacon, and then do the beans in the resulting fat; crumbling the cooked bacon into the beans is great for bacon lovers ;)

  4. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  5. Pingback: Blackened Shrimp Tostadas with Emergency Refried Black Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  6. Pingback: Carne Asada and a Cinco de Mayo Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  7. Jon says:

    I add a couple cloves of minced garlic and a bit of molino,, bacon grease works too but lard is better

  8. Pingback: Breakfast Burrito | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  9. Pingback: Sunday Suppers: Fiesta Time | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  10. Pingback: Fish Tacos Baby | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  11. A_Boleyn says:

    Just revisiting this post from your Bean roundup and have to agree with using bacon fat which I always have in my fridge. The ancho chili is new to me however. I am going to make a batch of refried beans and along with a tbsp or so of jarred Goya brand Sofrito to the cooking liquid, I’m going to add an ancho chili.

  12. Pingback: Refried Anasazi Beans | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

