Grilled Asparagus Salad

Wow that asparagus looks yummy.

Halfway through making dinner I realized the amount of asparagus I had on hand was far less than a proper portion for one person, let alone two. In a flash of inspiration/desperation, I coated the eight stalks with olive oil and spice and tossed them on the grill along with the meat for dinner. Then I threw together a tossed salad and topped it with the asparagus spears and some cheese.

At the time I thought I was a cooking genius.

When my wife got home I was excited to show off the high-class salad we were about to eat. She seemed impressed until we sat down and had a bite. It was at this moment I realized how grilled asparagus should always be served.

The spears had gone cold while waiting for the meat to cook. While sitting on the counter they had also continued to cook, unlike other vegetables that stay crisp as they cool. When I sampled one off the grill it was hot, juicy and, most important, still crisp. Now off the salad plate they were cold, chewy and soggy.

From the way she picked at her salad, I could tell my wife felt the same way I did about the asparagus. Next time, the asparagus is served hot off the grill.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Grilling/Smoking, Rants, Sides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

