Sesame Crackers

It is hard to cut things the same size by hand.

This is my first attempt at homemade crackers. I guess I brought that up because they did not quite work out. Granted they are very tasty and I would have no problem serving them to other people, but they are not better than a cracker you can buy at the store-yet.

Also I used my 600 series Kitchen Aid to mix this. I then kneaded by hand. Now I am not saying the 600 series is not a quality mixer, I love it, especially for sausage which is another article. It is the second version I have owned and it can not knead dough no matter what the manufacturers says, something that cost me the first version to discover. That being said I love to hand knead dough so much I find it relaxing. Most people would not agree and if you want to knead with your mixer just be aware unless it says Hobart on the front you will break it over time (took me a year for my first 600 pro model with two loaves a week).  Of course unless you are a professional baker why would you own a Hobart mixer.

The recipe is fairly simple if you have baked bread, the trick is in the rolling. My second batch came out thinner but I believe the solution is rolling out smaller portions of the dough on a baking stone and then baking directly in the oven. Since I have not tried it yet this is a guess and will be one of the next blog posts I promise. Regardless this is a fairly straightforward recipe and it works for a fancy presentation for soup or dip even if it is not quite a commercial cracker.

As another side note, find an Asian food market. Aside from the sesame oil, it is a far better place to get any ingredient for Asian cooking as well as fish most of the time compared to the grocery store. Yes, for the most part, the clientele will insult you in another language (much like any Hispanic grocery) but the value and quantity of basic cooking supplies will make it worth your time. Just remember that even though most patrons look like little old ladies in both these markets they should be treated as punk ass kids trying to mess with you all the time. Trust me, the only time I have ever been afraid is at the hands of a “helpless” old Asian lady who wanted the same batch of squid I did. I was lucky to come out of that with both hands and no I did not get the squid.

Sesame Crackers

1 cup whole wheat flour

2+ cups unbleached white flour

2 ¼ tsp yeast (1 package)

1 tbsp salt

1 cup boiling water

1 tbsp honey

3 tbsp butter plus 1 tbsp butter mixed with ¼ cup water

1 ½ tsp sesame oil

½ cup raw sesame seeds

In a mixing bowl combine the wheat flour, 1 cup white flour, and yeast. Mix to blend. Add the salt but do not mix. In a separate mixing cup add water, 3 tbsp butter and honey. Let the butter melt and the water cool to the touch. Add the sesame oil to liquid and mix well. Add liquid to flour mixture and blend well. Add white flour a ¼ cup at a time till dough pulls away from bowl and forms a mass. Remove from bowl and knead till smooth adding flour if sticky until dough forms a smooth ball, 4 minutes. Place in well oiled bowl, cover and let rise 1 hour. Melt last 1 tbsp butter and mix with ¼ cup water. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Here is where I think the recipe needs to change. Recipe- Divide into 2 balls and roll each out to 1/16 inch thick. Place each on greased baking sheet, cut into ½  inch strips and brush with butter. Dust with sesame seeds and bake till crispy. Break strips into bite sized crackers once cooked. Me-cut into balls small enough to fit on standard pizza stone (5-6). Roll dough out on stone 1/16 inch thick. Cut into ½ inch strips. Brush with butter mixture and dust with sesame seeds. Bake till crispy 10-20 minutes. Break into cracker size portions. I know it is somewhat pompous to list a recipe change before trying it-but hell I am not the most humble person and I am almost positive this will work.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Food, Rants, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

