The Slanted Door

Wow those are some well placed chopsticks.

A couple of years ago my wife and I were introduced to The Slanted Door during a visit to San Francisco. After eating at the restaurant in the Ferry building once, we make sure to visit every time a trip takes us into the city again. The reason for this is two fold.

One the food is excellent. It blends all of the different cuisine from Asia perfectly. More importantly there is no mention of some sort of dim sum platter found all over the city as requested by the many tourists who visit.

Give me clams or give me death, or at least mussels.

Two, it has one of the most comprehensive and well balanced white wine menus I have ever come across. Normally I would skip the white section of a wine list and head straight to the reds at a restaurant. Not at The Slanted Door. I could have multiple bottles delivered to the table and never find one that was even rose in color. This is partially due to the fact that Asian food goes better with white wine than red. That being said their wine list could be a reason to visit for the happy hour crowd without a thought of eating.

Trust me, this tasted so good.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Food, Restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Slanted Door

  1. foodtable says:

    Hey, you are reviewing my neck of the woods, so to speak. This is a really good restaurant and ferry building is such a great place to go. If you guys come back to SF, you need to check out Mandalay (California St) or Burma Super Star (Clement) (or B-Star Bistro down the st…also on Clement) for Burmese food. It’s a bit out of the way in the Richmond District in SF, but totally worth the trip. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

