Baked Figs with Grand Marnier

I think there is enough whipped cream to feed an entire village of starving children on that plate.

This will be the last post dealing with figs. I swear. At least for today. I discovered this recipe crammed in the back of a cookbook where I am sure I put it for safe keeping a couple years ago while I waited to find a supply of fresh figs. Then I proceeded to forget about it like so many other recipes that may have caught my interest one way or another only to be stored away into folders long forgotten. Maybe it is time to re-visit this treasure trove and uncover another gem like this dessert. Or at least clean out some clutter in the kitchen.

I followed the recipe for the most part. I added more figs to fill the bottom of a 9” cast iron pan (the recipe called for 12 only). I also left the pan on the heat when flambéing, which is a big safety no-no, but works so much better.

Baked Figs with Grand Marnier

Enough fresh figs to fill the bottom of 9” cast iron pan (16+)

  • 1/3 cup sugar + 2 tbsp
  • ½ cup water
  • ¼ cup Grand Marnier + 1 tbsp
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Mix cream, 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tbsp liquor in bowl and whip till hard peaks form. Pick out figs that sit up well. Cut off stems and prick bottoms and place in a single layer in pan. Sprinkle with 1/3 cup sugar, then add water to pan. Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes or until tender basting with pan juices. Place pan on stovetop and add ¼ cup liquor. Bring to a boil and light on fire. When flames subside remove figs to plates and reduce liquid till syrupy. Pour over figs and top with whipped cream.

About Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

This blog attempts to collect some of the things I try to create with food and booze. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. My hope is to entertain and maybe help people think a little harder about what they decide to eat and drink.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baked Figs with Grand Marnier

  1. Pingback: Picking figs, and living to tell the tale | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a Reply

